Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 06, 2009 - 10:07 p.m.
"ortho mania"

So, this morning I had an orthodontist appointment, and I was kinda upset with it for several reasons. Don't get me wrong.. I love my orthodontist, and the people at the office are so nice and really always go out of their way to help you. I just had some things that were bothering me. First off, there are 4 orthodontists who work at the office. Ever since I got my braces I have been seeing the same one. I don't think I would have minded seeing different ones in the beginning, but now that it's winding down... I am more particular.

First off, there's really just one tooth that I've been focused on the last few months, and my doctor has been adjusting it so that that one comes out the way I want it. I also feel like at the end it's all this little fine-tuning, and he's been making all the adjustments, so why have another set of hands in the pot, so to speak.

Anyway, after your appointment, the doctor gives you a post-it to take to the receptionist, telling when to make the next appointment. And for the last few appointments, he has specifically been writing that HE wanted to be the one to see me. So obviously that has worked out well. So, today, I get in and discover that he's not there. Which kinda bummed me out. The Dr I had was nice, but all he did was change my rubber bands. My total appointment was like 10 minutes. The problem was that I feel like... My braces were supposed to be off in July, and now it's October, and I am having severe "senioritis" for braces! I can't WAIT to get them off, BUT at the same time I don't want them taken off before the job is done! I want them perfect.. BUT I feel like I don't want to be wasting time. He said to come back in 3 weeks, and made a point to have my appointment with my original Dr! SO...I now feel like maybe there was more that could have been adjusted NOW, so that I wouldn't be wasting the next three weeks! Of course, I have no problem waiting three weeks if something was adjusted and needed time... but to have nothing done is such a waste! I could have asked this doctor about adjusting that tooth, but some part of me didn't even want to do that, because each Dr. has their own style, and with all the little fine-tuning going on, I wanted to leave it all to my main doctor who I am comfortable with, and has been doing it all along. So then I had an appointment over three weeks from now on the 30th, and I felt like I was wasting so much time. I just wanna get things moving.

Compounding that, you always hear stories about people with braces, and that they hurt when they're adjusted, and you can't eat for a day or two... Well.. I have NEVER had any pain from the adjusting of my braces!! Which I guess is a good thing, but it makes me feel like maybe they could do MORE drastic changes to move things along faster! I'll take a little pain for some progress. No pain no gain!!

Anyway, fast forward to the end...later on in the day, I got another appointment for the 15th, instead of the 30th. My Dr had unexpectedly changed his schedule, and so that's why he wasn't there today... but whatever.. like I said.. I just want to keep the process moving!

After my appt, I headed directly to work. I got here just before 9... there wasn't any traffic at all today! (Which is very odd...usually it's really bad at that time! And that's another thing... It's such a production to drive in rush hour traffic to Port Jeff on 347 to get to my ortho!... It makes to like an hour trip, and so that's why I want to get as much done while I'm there as possible!)

So.. Work today was good, nothing too exciting going on. For lunch I had grilled chicken and fries, and ate out at my car while listening to the radio. It was nice out today! Very fall-y!

Speaking of Fall... the other day I looked up the schedule for Spooky Walk! As I'm sure you're aware, it has very limited dates, so I want to make sure we don't miss it this year! I LOVE SPOOKY WALK! :)

Since we're not going to be around on the 23rd/24th weekend, we're gonna have to go on either the 16th or 17th! It's only open from 7pm-9pm to get on line... so you see how small the window is!

As I left work, I got a text from Re, and she was upset, and so Robby, Me, and Jen B met up with her in the parking lot of J&R's Steakhouse in Stony Brook, and we were there for about an hour and a half. I think she was feeling better by the time we departed... I certainly hope so.

Then I went to dinner with my mom and Dan. My mom had been wanting to take me out to dinner for my birthday since I got back from Disney, and it kept getting pushed back... so today we finally planned it. We pushed it back a little, which was good for me.. because I like to eat a later dinner.. but my mom, however.. she has a time clock on her stomach, and the vault locks after sundown! lol We had to convince her it wasn't too late to go out!

So I think today is the final birthday celebration.. which makes my birthday festivities last from the 19th of September to the 6th of October! 18 DAYS! That's more than the 12 Days of Christmas! Insane!

Now I am home, just took a shower, and have to get ready for bed. We have mannnny shows to catch up on. Perhaps tomorrow.

This is a pretty complete entry. I feel good about it. I feel like I told a lot, I got a lot off my chest... These are the kind of entries I wish I could write every day.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com