Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 30, 2009 - 10:12 p.m.
"decorating at work" or "chinese food lunch"

Hey Journal!

Well, Monday means back to work. On my way to work this morning I picked up the mail at the PO Box, and then arrived a little before nine. One of the items that arrived in the mail was a large manila envelope, and inside where some checks and other important papers. (This will come up later... so keep reading!)

The morning was nice and quiet. I caught up on some things from the long weekend, and then had some cereal for breakfast. Then Jackie asked me to help with the decorating, so I came upstairs and we hung the garland over the large doorway, and the fluffed it up. Then we got pictures of last year's setup, and tried to recreate all of the festiveness. We did the lobby shelf, and the table, and then got our the Christmas tree and presents! The tree looked really bad at first... you could see straight through it! We worked out magic and fluffed up the branches, pulling them up AND down. That made it a lot better. It'll look a lot better tomorrow, though, once the ribbon and balls are put on it. I said it looked like one of those cell phone towers that they disguise as a tree! haha

For lunch, we decided to order Chinese food! Dan, Jackie, Me, Linda, and Rich. We ordered, and Dan picked it up on the way over to the golf course. I called in the order, and specifically said we would be there to pick it up at 12:50. She confirmed by saying "twelve five-oh." However, when Dan arrived, he had to wait until 1:00 for them to finish.

We ate, and then after lunch I did some CPC work, and when Karen came down, I went to show her some of the stuff that was in the folder. I couldn't find it. I knew exactly where I had left it on my desk, but it was nowhere to be found!! I was going crazy. I thought maybe it had gotten thrown out by mistake, so I asked Linda to get the bag of garbage that the cleaning woman had taken out today. UGH. It was gross, and I put on gloves and found my bag of garbage inside the large bag... but my stuff wasn't in there!! Where could it be?? Well, Rich came in while I was looking, and he said that he saw the mail woman (not our regular mailman, he must have been out today) leave with a manila envelope. I know that in the AM I only put one regular envelope into the outgoing mail, so SHE MUST HAVE SEEN THAT on my desk next to the mail bin, and TAKEN IT! INSANE! I'm sure it will be redelivered to the PO Box, so it's not that tragic, the only problem is that I opened it already, so I hope the contents don't FALL OUT! UGH! I will have to check tomorrow to see if it's back!

The rest of the day went by quickly. I had a lot of stuff to do. The course was open today, but there was almost noone out playing. I think we just about broke even though, so it wasn't a lost day.

We departed at about 4:20. A little early which was a nice treat. I'm really happy we DID leave early today because on my way home I hit the worst traffic. The expressway was alright... the usual traffic for a rainy day, but then when I got onto 111, it was horrendous. I had to take a detour down some side roads, and then came out onto 454, and tried to take Lincoln down past Hauppauge High School. When I got to Townline, I was diverted into the parking lot, and there was no way out. There was, however, a news 12 van in the parking lot, and a crazy reporter
with and umbrella!

I had to turn around and find another way, but everywhere I went, there were police cars, and police tape... UGH! It was unbelievable. I finally had to go down by the Waldbaums on 454, then down some back roads there to Towline, then go RIGHT instead of LEFT, and go down Mt. Pleasant past Friendly's to cross street and home that way! I wound up getting home about 10 minutes earlier than I usually do. What a day.

I turned on the news, and later discovered what had caused the problems. A house right across from the light at Lincoln and Townline, and right behind Branchinelli's had caught fire, and not only was the house on fire, but they found a dead body inside.

So, that was causing all of the insanity.

I got home & waited for Dan. I alerted him to the situation, so he went home via Jericho and avoided all of the mess. He said the sign on the Northern which usually says about 20 minutes to 111 said 53 minutes today!!

We watched the news, I played Mario... and BEAT THE GAME! Now I have to go back and collect all the coins and save the toads! AND A secret world opened up!

I took a shower, and ordered some pictures on Snapfish (because today they had a Free Shipping promotion!)

Then we watched Heroes, and after that we watched some more of the Disney Holiday Decoration show (although we still have more to go!)

Now I gotta get to sleep! Getting tired!

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com