Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 01, 2010 - 12:45 p.m.
new year's eve - 2010

"the last day of 2009" or "slippery slope"

HAPPY NEW YEAR, Journal!!

If you didn't get a chance, check out my 2009 Wrapup entry!� Even though it's 2010 right now, this is my last entry for 2009!

I got up at the regular time, excited to head in to work for a short day!� Much to my surprise, it was snowing.� I didn't know there was going to be snow!

I headed off to work, and quickly learned that the roads were BAD!� I was driving on the Northern State, and was going super slow!� The roads were icy, and I passed a ton of accidents!� After getting off the Northern, and taking 231 south, I was behind a sanding truck, and was going about 5 mph.� People were flying past me on the other side... but I was content!� Then the sanding truck left, and I had to make a right turn.� I was still going slowly, but as I turned, my car had plans of its own.� It decided to go straight!

I couldn't stop, and was headed straight for the driver's side door of a purple mini-van!� I kept doing my best to brake, and my best to turn, but didn't have too much luck.� I did, however, manage to get far enough to the right to not hit the car head on, and just skimmed the back side of it with my mirror.� My mirror bent backwards, and disconnected from my car... and there was a small black line on the purple van, made by the plastic of the mirror.� Luckily, it looked like it would come off with a little rubbing.

The police were already present.� There were two accidents in the same place.� The police lady told me "get in line"!� I had to wait about 30 minutes for her to finish with the other people.� The woman in the van didn't speak English..she was Russian... and she was on the phone the whole time speaking Russian.

The whole time I was pacing back and forth on the steps of the Upper Room church.

The police lady got to us, and took our info, and stuff.... she couldn't even locate the damage on the other car... then she determined that our Russian friend did not have a driver's license... so she gave her a ticket, and told her that someone else would have to come and pick her up!� I got the accident report, and got outta there.

I got to work around 10:00.� Work was dead, no people in the restaurant, nothing else happening at all.� I was more concerned with my car.� The mailman came, and brought some dues with him.� After doing all the dues, we all departed.

The mechanic at the golf course was nice enough to rig my mirror back up, and it's in a good position now.� If it would have been really expensive to fix, I would have left it like it is.� You can just see a black zip tie on the top, holding it in place.� However, the mechanic also offered to put in the new one for me, if I could get the part.� I called around, and went to pep boys after leaving work... but it turns out that Pep Boys only had the Manual version of my mirror, not the power one.� So, I continued my search.� Found it at Ford for $65, and at a place in Commack for $50.

Before Pep Boys, I went to the bank to deposit a check for Steve, and then to Party Glitters to get some noisemakers and stuff for New Years.

When I got home, I looked online, and found it on Amazon for $35 with FREE shipping!! NICE!� I ordered it from there, and I'll be delivered to the golf course on either Monday or Tuesday!� Not bad.

Now, all I have to hope is that my Russian friend does not report this to her insurance.� I think that since she had no license to begin with... that may be probable...� but she might... because she doesn't know that I have no intention of doing anything.

My mom came by to check out the damage, and then took me to lunch at Branchinelli's.� We had a nice lunch, but I had a headache, felt exhausted, and felt really weird.� I only ate a very little of my baked ziti.

When I got home, I took a nap until 6:30!� I got up after Dan got home.

We had to quickly prepare for New Years!!� We got everything ready, I took a shower, and then at about 7:30, Re arrived, and then a little bit after, Scott and Steve came.� We took some group pics, and hung out... and then Kristen and Don arrived!

We had a REALLY fun time!� It was crazy!� We took a bunch of "group shots" and every time we would pose for the picture, we'd be blowing our blowers, and using the noisemakers...as if it mattered for the picture!!� So then I put the video on my camera while we were taking pics with Scott's!� The video is incredible! haha� We're so ridiculous!

One of the other highlights of the night was when Justin Bieber performed!� I have a liking for that "One Time" song!� The dace for his song, especially at the end, was so hysterical, and Dan, Scott, and Steve started reenacting it!!� We kept rewinding and they were performing it... so I recorded that as well!� What an amazing video!� It's classic!!

Justin Bieber... aka "The Beaver" provided a lot of entertainment for the night.� He was also performing with a boot just like Re had a few years ago!!

There was some lady reporting on one of the channels named Poppy Harlow, and she NUTS, so we named this inflatable parrot that I had purchased after her!

We spent the night going back and forth between CNN and ABC.� Anderson Cooper and Kathy Griffin were funny, the guy with the Hawaiian shirt on, who was reporting from a beach in Hawaii was crazy, and these hairy gross people kept walking around behind him!!� Then they had a scene from Key West, with a guy in a mustard colored shirt!� He was something else!

ABC was good... the JLo performance was out of control!� The outfit she had on was grotesque and she looked ridiculous, and kept saying stupid things like, "I BET YOU DIDN'T THINK I COULD DO THAT IN THE RAIN!!"

Dick Clark was there, as usual, and they gave him even less of a speaking part than in previous years.� I feel so bad for him, and it's such an awkward scene.� They should just have him there and cut to a shot of him with his wife, and he could wave at the camera, and say Happy New Year, but not have to give a speech, and his COUNTDOWN is so bad because he can't keep up with the numbers!� I mean, I love Dick Clark, I'm a big fan of $100,000 Pyramid, but I think it would be more dignified for him if they didn't put him in that spot!� Obviously he wants to do it... but maybe it's not the best.

Throughout the night we were playing Kings!� Fun times!� Then, it creeped up on us...� 2010!!!!

At midnight, Dan ran outside with no shoes on, and Kristen, Don, Scott, and Steve followed!� Only Re and I remained inside!� They were running around the lawn, and blowing the noisemakers!� What a way to welcome in 2010!

So, my 2009 went out with a bang, and on a sad note of hitting that person's car.� BUT... In the grand scheme of things, it wasn't all that bad.� I really had a GREAT 2009.� I hope 2010 can be just as amazing... but I really dislike even numbered years!� haha.� Oh well..what can I do!?

Adios for now!! :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com