Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 12, 2010 - 10:12 p.m.
"notarization"

Hey Journal!

Today I went on a crazy trip to a north shore country club for a seminar given by the managers association for clubs in NY. I got up about a half-hour early, and had to wear a suit, and get all spiffy. Originally I was going to go with Dan's dad, but he had somewhere to go afterward, so we met there. Well, we didn't exactly meet THERE.... we met at a Gulf gas station!

The google directions I had printed were pretty wrong. Instead of telling us to turn RIGHT at a particular intersection, the said to turn left... and the directions, as well as the Maps App on my iPhone (also powered by Google) had the PIN location for the club completely wrong. So I was driving around in circles looking for a club, and the only thing at the pin location was a shopping center and a lot of trees. I was quite confused. I passed Dan's dad on the road, and we stopped at a gas station to ask directions.

We got there a few minutes after 9, and they had registration, and then a really nice breakfast thingy. Just bagels, muffins, stuff like that. I had a bagel and some orange juice. We sat in these couches and ate, and then at about 9:30, went into the other room for the "seminar."

The speaker was pretty good. The stuff from the book was pretty boring and dense, but he did a good job of making it lively and made it make sense. He made a lot of jokes, and most of them were really not funny. It was like... he would start to say something political, and then stop himself, making some comment that he shouldn't go there. (As if to say that he didn't know how everyone would react to it... so he would stop himself.) It was really weird, and not funny... although I think he intended it to be.

There was this one guy there in a lime green vest, he was so annoying. He kept talking on his phone, coming back late from the breaks, asking dumb questions, and then plugging in his phone over at the window to recharge it, only to jump up to get it when it rang. There's always one in every crowd!

I was surprised there were about 40 people there.... I could have seen it being the type of thing that only a handful of people come to... but it got a pretty good turnout.

For lunch, we went into this really big room, and they had salads on the table and all. I picked up my fork and messed up the salad to make it look like I actually ate it. Dan's dad suggested that I break the bread stick, too! Haha. We sat at a table with two people from a club near where we were, and some random lady who had sat with us at breakfast. I think she was stalking us. LOL I had steak for lunch, two different kinds. It was a buffet. Then for dessert I had a medium-sized cupcake. They had these super huge ones, but I wasn't gonna be the person to take one of those! haha They also had a little oven out, and were making fresh cookies.

The rest of it went pretty fast. We departed at about 4:00... we were the last to leave. They were giving out little hamburgers and drinks as we left, but it didn't look like many people were going for that.

Traffic wasn't too bad coming home.. I got back about 10 minutes before 5.

Dan had a special thing to go to work work, and so he wasn't home until late. I watched the news, and WN with Diane Sawyer in Afghanistan again tonight. She had a pretty interesting report tonight. I liked it. Her sign-off is still weak... she can't get it together... she can't figure out ONE THING that works to say EVERY NIGHT. Charlie Gibson had it DOWN... it completely worked... "I hope you had a good day, and for all of us at ABC News, have a good night." BAM!!! PERFECTION!

Anyway, when Dan got home, we watched Heroes from last night, and I just took a shower. Now it's time for some sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com