Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 27, 2010 - 10:40 p.m.
"notary test" or "power outage"

Hey Journal!

Well, what a day! So much going on! Notary Test... the iPad, and of course, the State of the Union is on right now! lol

And then of course, there's what I forgot today... to get a haircut after work! I really need one before we go away, and I figured today would be perfect. I really hope he's there tomorrow!

So, this morning started out at the S.O.B. Yes, the State Office Building. I was a little sad, because when I went there to get my driver's license, they gave me a brightly colored sticker that said "S.O.B." in big letters. Now they don't so that anymore. Sad.

We were there early.. I got there at 9, and we waited in a little cafeteria in the basement. Dan's Dad had studied last night also, so we were as ready as we could be. At about 9:15, they let us into the testing room, and and old lady checked our ID's. It's kinda stupid because they look at your ID on the way in, and I assume they check to make sure your picture matches your face... but they take a two second glance and then tell you to put the ID away. They never check later on, so theoretically, you could put any name down on the paper when you fill out the test form.

Then they come around and give you ink to make a thumbprint on the paper. Why they need a thumbprint of a Notary, I do not know. I don't like having my fingerprints on file. It doesn't sit well with me. Perhaps they won't put it into anything. And it's only my thumb. Maybe it's a little smudged. Maybe.

So, I took about 20 minutes, and I got up, handed my stuff in, and then sat outside at a little table waiting for Dan's Dad to finish. As I waited, I had a strange encounter with a sceevy man. I was sitting there, and he comes out of the test, and is muttering to himself.... "Fucking.. blah blah blah..fuck fuck blah blah." I ignore him. Now, the building has a GIANT lobby. You walk in, and all there is is LOBBY. In the middle of this lobby is a large, wide staircase leading to the basement (Where the test was.) So, he turns to me and says, "Yo, Can you help me?" I look at him, What the hell does he want from me!? "How do you get outta this place?" I was like.. "Just got up the stairs, and the doors are right there." He says, "We're in the basement!?!?" Wow. If they let this guy become a notary, we're all doomed.

Anyways, Dan's dad took about 40 minutes for the test. He came out and we compared answers. We don't get the results for 7-10 days... then they mail them to you.

So, before going to work, we stopped at the storage facility and picked up the items we sold on eBay.

Work today went by fast since I didn't get there till about 11:30.

I helped out in the restaurant, being the HOST today, since Linda was out on Jury Duty... which we later learned.. she was SELECTED to be on a JURY! AHH! Attempted Murder!

Anyway, I ordered my lunch at about 1:20, and at 1:30, the power went out. It was pitch black in the basement. Luckily, I keep a flashlight in my desk! Diane and I made our way upstairs. The burglar alarm went off because of the lack of power. We couldn't call because the power was out... so they wound up calling Dan's dad who had gone to the bank. He tried to call us, but couldn't get anyone... and my cell was in the basement.. so he was like, what the heck is going on there!

I called LIPA, and they said it was due to a downed distribution line! Insane. They said it would be back around 4:00! My lunch wasn't ready, and they couldn't cook it.

Instead, I had a piece of grilled chicken, and then lights came back on after about 40 minutes at 2:10 or so.... much earlier than expected! I was all geared up for an afternoon of power outage fun!

Alas, when the power came back, we had some computer problems. Basically, one of the battery backups in the basement wasn't charged enough to last 40 minutes, and shut down, and I even when everything came back, the router wasn't issuing new IPs properly. Anyway, I got that problem solved... and we were back in business.

In the afternoon, I ordered more postcards for our mailing. I departed at 5:00 and headed home.

I was SUPER HUNGRY today! As soon as I got home, I heated up the leftovers from the chicken I had made a few nights ago, and ate! I also had some cereal. When Dan got home, we watched the rest of Rosie on Oprah... and then watched Monday's Heroes!

I took a shower, and then we watched the State of the Union! Those Supreme Court Justices are something else! The way they just sit there and stare! They look so boring! And those little doilies that the women wear around their necks! Wow!

Tomorrow I have to get a haircut! Our cruise is soooo soon! It's coming!! I CAN'T WAIT!!!

Now it's time for bed! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com