Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 27, 2010 - 11:58 p.m.
"mac tonight" or "can't-erbury ales"

Hey Journal!

Twas another long Saturday! Okay, maybe not as long as the last one... but I did get up pretty early. We got up a little before 8 this morning for my Orthodontist appointment. We left around 8:15, and stopped at Toyota to drop off Dan's car. It needed to have an oil and filter change. We then made our way out to Port Jeff to my ortho.

I was only there for a short time, as usual. He checked me out, said everything looked great.. that my "bite looks great," and that I should come back in another three months. Fun!

So, after that, Dan and I went to McDonald's in Stony Brook for breakfast. What an experience. I haven't been there in soooo long, and of course my memories are of the play area inside with the yellow and red slide, and the carousel with fry guys and fish sandwich things. Ahh the good old days. Well, as much as McDonald's has tried to pretend that Grimace, Birdie, Hamburgular, and the fry guys don't exist anymore... there's one character they are apparently resurrecting! In an old commercial you may remember, there was a man with a moon head playing a piano, and singing about a "Mac Tonight!" Well, the Stony Brook McDonald's has a tribute to this in what used to be the back sitting area. It's a stage with a big piano, and sitting at it, with a body that looks just like a real person... in fact, with the blazer and shirt he's wearing, he looks just like my Uncle Charlie. Anyway, the only thing un-human about him is the giant Moon head!

Alas, he sings oldies and "plays" the piano! It really is an entertaining experience. There was one woman sitting alone in the corner wearing a green dress, bopping along to the music. She then got up and started taking pictures of Mac himself. (Of course, she only got up and started taking pictures after I did!)

It really is...special! I recommend it.

After breakfast, we went to the mall, but we couldn't make a full lap because my leg and foot started hurting a lot. I really really need this pain to go away! I am so upset about it. I hope it gets better SOON!

We came home, and did some CPC work for the church folders. I am almost 100% done with that project. It will be a big deal when it's all done... it was a lot of stuff to do!

Then we watched '17 Again' with Zac Efron. It was good... not the best.. but the story was funny...and there were some things that really made me laugh. It was a little stupid, but overall I liked it... and looking at Zac Efron wasn't the worst way to spend 90 minutes.

After that, we washed out comforter, and watched "20/20 on We." (Which is basically old episodes of 20/20 with the introductions cut out, and Deborah Roberts filmed new segments introducing the stories. It was still good.... about people who disappeared, and murder trials... that kinda stuff.

At 7:00 Re and Lau came over and we went out for dinner. We had no idea where to go, so we took a drive to see what we could find. We ultimately settled on Canterbury Ales in Huntington. I was excited, and I saw they had a Chicken Pot Pie. We had to wait a while for a table, so we went across the street to the book store, and just perused. There was som unknown author there, who had quite a line of people waiting to meet her. She was certainly no Barbara Walters.

So, we finally got called, and we ordered our drinks and appetizers, but the appetizers took FOREVER to come. We got a "basket of pretzels" as on the of the appetizers, and it was incredible. The sad thing, though, was the the rest of the meal was downhill. I loved the atmosphere of the restaurant.. it was a little odd, but that was it's charm. My chicken pot pie was..pretty bad. It was basically a bowl of soup with a piece of cornbread on top. There was one medium sized piece of chicken in the soup, and the rest was all pieces of celery. Basically, it was a bowl of not-so-great soup with a piece of corn bread.....for $16.99!!!

Lau didn't fare that well, either... her burger came very undercooked. All in all, it wasn't a great place, but it was an experience. We all had a good time, but I don't think we will be going back there.

After that we were going to come back and play You Don't Know Jack... but unfortunately Dan couldn't find the game, and Re was getting tired, so we decided to call it a night, and schedule some 'You Don't Know Jack' for next weekend! :)

So, it's time for bed now... we got home and I took a shower, and looked at some of Dan's old pictures! Fun times.

Now I must go get into my PJs, and get into our nice clean sheets, and clean comforter, and get a good long night's sleep! :)

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com