Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 28, 2010 - 9:38 p.m.
"maple sugaring" or "closing ceremonies"

Hey Journal!

Today I got up at about 9:00 and decided I was too tired, and went back to sleep for another hour. I had some cereal, and watched some TV, and just hung around the house for a while.

Kristen called around 11:30 to see if we wanted to go to Hoyt Farm today for a Maple Sugaring demonstration/lesson! We did, indeed! We got ready, and headed over to pick them up, and then off we went.

It started at 1:30 by the barn. They had these two girls who were pretty good, and a guy who was kinda awkward. They talked about how the whole process began, and really explained it step by step! One of the best parts was when they picked two kids from the audience to help illustrate how the sap comes to move around within the tree, and they dressed this little girl up as a tree, and put a little safari hat on her with a branch coming out of the top. It was very funny. Then, there was a little boy who played the part of Chlorophyll. He had a green felt thing to wear, and a nametag that said, "Hi, My name is Chlorophyll."

After they explained everything, we split up into two groups, and went to a tree, where she drilled a hole in it, inserted the Spile, and the sap started to drip out! It was crazy. They let everyone come and taste it... to me, it just tasted like weird water... nothing really sweet or special about it. Kristen said it tasted like pasta water, and Don said it was like biting into a potato. After that, we went back by the barn, where we got to try some of the boiled down sugar, and some Maple Syrup they had made from the Hoyt Farm sap! :)

It was a really cool thing to do, I'm really glad we went... It was definitely a random event!

Afterwards, we were all pretty cold, so we headed back to the car, and made our way over to the "Original Brooklyn Pizzeria" in Commack. We got a pie there, and had a nice lunch! We brough Kristen and Don back home, and then came home.

I worked on some CPC stuff, and Dan watched the hockey game. USA lost, but you know... in a way... I don't feel so bad for them. Two reasons... It's nice for Canada to win something on their home turf, and it was a big deal for them... so good for them. Second, the US still won the Silver medal! They were the SECOND best team! And when they were being presented with their medals, they looked like the most ungrateful, sour, sore losers I have ever seen. I was not happy with their display. Sorry you expected to be #1... but you aren't entitled to anything, and you should be happy you did much better than lots of other countries.

After that, I took a shower and got ready for bed. My leg is still bothering me, although it does feel a bit better than it has the oast few days. Every now and then it feels worse, though. Ugh.. I just hate it. I want it to stop bothering me. I will never carry another golf bag again at work. I mean it.

Alas, now we're watching the closing ceremony of the 2010 Olympics in Vancouver! I am sad it's over... it's been really fun watching these past few weeks. As uninterested in it as I was when it started, I am now fully into it, and don't want to say goodbye!

Soon we're gonna watch tonight's Desperate Housewives, and then it's off to bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com