Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 07, 2010 - 10:35 p.m.
"is spring here?" or "wabc.. now you see it, now you don't!"

Hey Journal!

Today I woke up at about 11:00, and Dan was home. I had not noticed what time he came in last night, but he told me it was 6am! INSANITY! But they finished the catalog, so I guess that's the end of this craziness!

We watched TV, now WABC of course... well.. we did watch channel 7 for a while. We watched the crazy loop of the Cablevision statement.. it is strangely entertaining. My position throughout the day was that really.. this was no big deal. WABC is my favorite station, and I was able to realize that it's not the end of the world for it to go away for a few days until one of the sides caves. People were getting all kinds of crazy about it online, and flipping out about the Oscars! Sheesh!!

So, today was a really really nice day out! Warmer than yesterday, and so spring-like! We went to the "Do It Best" hardware store down the street to get a different kind of caulk, and then I came back home to do the bathtub, and Dan went to take a shower at his parents' house. When I was finished with the tub, and Dan was back....we went out for a bit. We took a drive to the bank and then went to Home Depot to return the caulk I had purchased yesterday.

We were pretty hungry for lunch after that, and decided to go to Meson Ole! We were just a few minutes short of making it for the "lunch" prices, but oh well. We had a nice "dinner." I got my usual, Arroz con Pollo, no spanish sausage. It was most enjoyable. I actually just had some of the leftovers as a before bed snack.

When we got home, we hung around the house, watched some Prison show on MSNBC, and then called my mom to see I could come over and take a shower. (Our ceiling paint and caulk are not ready for water yet!)

So, I went over, took a shower, and had some chicken for dinner. Just after the Oscars had started, WABC made a concession and allowed Cablevision to broadcast WABC while they continue to negotiate! So, the show was back on. My mother had no idea that anything was happening with Channel 7. My grandpa thought there was a "labor dispute," and my grandma thought they weren't on, until I told her that they had decided to broadcast it!

I think ABC and Disney are playing some pretty dirty games. That Rebecca Campbell seems like a real sly fox, and she cooked up some scheme with Bob Iger and some Disney execs to hold Cablevision hostage. They planned, from the beginning, to use the recent Food Network dispute to misinform viewers, and make it seem like Cablevision was some sort of unreasonable beast, and that they would have no choice but to stop allowing them to broadcast their signal.

BUT Cablevision called their bluff, and let them take it off the air, and I think that they had no intention of not letting viewers see the Oscars. Why?? BECAUSE if the Oscars are such a great ratings-getter, than what would all of the companies that purchased local/regional advertisements during the broadcast do? They would wither pull their ads, or demand some sort of compensation for the 4 million subscribers who no longer had access to the show, to potentially see their ads! WABC wouldn't have let that happen... they just wanted to stir it up, and put the heat on Cablevision... but the real truth is that they both need eachother!

ABC needs Cablevision to help them reach more homes than they would with an Over-the-air singal alone, so they can sell ads for more, and Cablevision needs ABC because people like ABC and their programs, and wants to continue to provide it to their customers, since they customers want it. So, they need to coexist and stop all this ridiculousness. Rebecca Campbell, GM of WABC became the public face of this fight, and she really looks like a shrewd bitch.

Did you also notice that Cablevision, in their loop on Ch. 7 during the outage, wound never refer to Disney by name... they kept calling it.. "WABC's parent company." Why is that? I think it may be because Disney has such a good reputation, and people love Dinsey, so if they BLAMED Disney, people might be reluctant to believe they could do wrong.

So, when I got home, we watch just a tiny bit of the Oscars, and I got ready for bed, had my leftovers as a snack, and now it's time for sleeeeep!

Work tomorrow... SOOO Not looking forward to it!

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com