Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 21, 2010 - 1:47 a.m.
"rockwell's" or "good deed for the day"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up around 10:30 and went online for a while, while Dan slept until about 12:00. When he got up, we tried to figure out a game plan for the day, but didn't get out right away.

First we went to the bagel place and got some breakfast, and then we went to Best Buy to get New Moon! I was very excited about the release! In fact, last night as I was getting ready for bed... I was wondering if any stores were going to open at midnight to sell it! I looked online and saw that only Borders and Blockbusters around here were. I'm sure it was much more expensive there... and I figured I could wait till today. Actually, Best Buy in Riverhead also was open... but... that's kinda far.

Anyway, we went there and purchased. They two-disc set was 19.99. I had a gift card and $10 off from my Reward Zone points... so I figured that made sense. Then we went over to Target, and it was only $16.99 there!!!! Craziness. They actually had the same two-disc version for $16.99 and a special THREE DISC (Available only at Target) set for $19.99. So either way, we got jipped! I liked the cover on the regular one, and I dunno.. I wasn't THRILLED with the special features on the 3-disc... so we went over to Best Buy with the Target flyer, and got an adjustment! I got my $3+ back! Nice! :)

It was beautiful out, and we went for a walk around Caleb Smith. We walked down the Yellow trail, and then went into the "museum." It's cool that that used to be some kind of clubhouse for a hunting club, although I can't imagine why they needed a 44 room house as a clubhouse! So strange. I think the parts of it that you can see are pretty cool, but it kinda annoys me that the have ropes up over the stairs so you can't see what's going on on the second and third floors. I'd love to see what's up there... I think it would be just as fascinating, if not moreso, than the first floor.

Apparently, Caleb Smith is closing in a few weeks.. on April 1st due to state budgetary concerns. It's kinda stupid.. because first off... Why would you expect parks to make money. Parks are for preserving nature for people to enjoy. So, basically, they're gonna close this park down, and all maintenance will stop. Maybe it'll be closed for a few years.. and then they'll decide to re-open it, and it'll be in shambles, the grass will be overgrown, the building will need more repair... and all the fixing up, and getting it back into shape will cost more than it would have to just keep the place open and maintained in the first place! ALSO... Why close so many state parks? Why, instead of closing a few parks, wouldn't you look at each park, and maybe eliminate one or two positions. It would be better to do something like that than close down all together? Wouldn't it? It's probably some union thing too.

Anyway, after the park, we swung by Dan's parents' house... then we came home and hung around the house. I read some of my book, and Dan watched some TV, and we relaxed a little before dinner. At 7:00, we met Lau, Ryan, and Re at Rockwell's, which is a restaurant nearby, that we had never been to.

After my our meal, my feeling is... "That place was The Cat's Meow!" ... and I mean it in every sense of the phrase! haha

There was a bar in that same location years ago, and I always remember seeing it when we drove by... called, "The Cat's Meow!" so it literally was! But my meal was really really great. I got the Cheese Ravioli, which sounds boring... and well, the waitress didn't even know it existed... but the sauce came with tons of spicy sausage, and pieces of grilled chicken in it. It was amazing. It was really the only thing on the menu that I liked, and it turned out to be a home run! I am sure that sometime in the next few months we will have to go back there again.

It's funny, there are so many little restaurants around, and sometimes it's intimidating to try a new one. We have definitely tried some smaller random places over the past few years, but this one was definitely two thumbs up.

Anyway, at the end of our meal, I got up to go to the bathroom, and placed my napkin over the back of my chair, on top of my jacket. I got back, and we were getting ready to leave, and I just slid my hands back into my jacket and slipped it on. As we were getting out to the parking lot, I knew the back of my collar seemed weird, but I wasn't sure why. Re said I had something stuck in there.. and lo and behold.. it was the napkin! :P Woops!

After dinner, we went to Friendly's for some ice cream. We got it to go, and ate in Ryan's car.

After that... Dan and I went to CVS, and bought Scott's birthday card, and then hurried home to meet him... however, he had already arrived. As we approached, there was a crazy car accident outside our place at the corner of Maple Avenue again! This is the second one in two days, and possibly the 5th one we've seen in a like two years! Really, this is a word to those reading.. Be very very careful if you are turning onto, or off of Maple Avenue. People are coming down fast, and you have to make sure it's clear before you go. Really. It's scary! I think they may need to consider putting a light there.

So, we took a walk around Smithtown with Scott. Another place to be careful, since people had been hit by cars recently crossing the streets in town. Anyway, we stopped at the bank and I deposited my check. Then we walked over by Waldbaum's, and we saw this college-aged-boy trying to get into Waldbaum's, and was all sad that it was closed. However, it was not closed... he just didn't know about the other set of doors at night. So, Dan said REALLY LOUDLY to Scott, that we had to go down to the other doors... and it was so obviously louder than he needed to be talking! Then when we got in, we made sure he saw us in there!

So, the kid came in, and he said to us, "Thank for talking loudly so I could hear! Now I don't to find another place to get my beer!" We were very happy to have done a good deed for him... but we don't know if he KNEW that we intentionally spoke loudly to tip him off, or if he just was saying thanks that we WERE talking loudly... but didn't know it was for him!! The world may never know.

After our walk, we headed back to the car, and then we came back here and watched New Moon! I had forgotten a lot about that movie, so it was nice to get a refresher... but one thing that bothered me was that it kinda messed up my head as to Eclipse, which I'm in the middle of now. I kinda lost my place... so after the movie, I flipped through Eclipse, which I am almost half finished with, and refreshed my memory of what I had just read over the past week! All is well.

Anyway, now it's really late and I'm exhausted! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com