Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 04, 2010 - 12:28 a.m.
"the disney vacation club tour" or "easter eggs"

Hey Journal!

This morning we got up bright and early! A little too early for a Saturday... but we had a nice day to take advantage of, and wanted to make the most of it! We planned to go out to breakfast with Kristen, and meet here at 9:30, so we got up at 9. We got ready, and set to go!

Our other plan of the day was to take a tour of the "Disney Vacation Club" setup at the Roosevelt Field Mall! We got coupons in the mail saying if we took the tour, we could get a $50 gift card, so we wanted to take advantage of that!

We headed off to iHop for breakfast. We went to one on Old Country Road out by Roosevelt Field. We had a nice breakfast. It's not the nicest of iHop locations... I think the Commack one is my favorite.. but it was still good! I love getting up early on the weekend and going out for breakfast. It makes the day seem so much longer, and starts it off on a really nice note.

After breakfast, we headed over to the mall, and walked around a little before heading down to the Disney thing! It's so secretive and crazy!

When we got there, it's all so strange and secretive. They seem to screen out the undesirables before letting you inside! We had an appointment. So, first they open these giant doors which lead to a small "movie theater" with two rows of seats. You sit down, and they show you a 3 minute little movie which just has pictures of different Disney destinations. Actually, it's a little disappointing. I thought he movie would be a lot more interesting, and have something to it. It was rather pointless.

After that, they take you through a curtain, and give you nametags, and then let you look at a little model of their newest Disney Cruise Ship. Then a woman came out and brought us over to this little couch, where we sat and kinda told her about ourselves. She explained a little about the Vacation Club, and then we went into this area with three different Disney Hotel rooms in it! It was insane! By the time we were done, I didn't even feel like we were at home... I thought we were in Disney!

The rooms were cool, they had kitchens, and laundry, and stuff like that... After we saw the rooms, she took us into a little room with a table, called "Sands" and then we discussed the pricing, and the way it works. It really does sound like a cool idea.. but the problem is that it's all hotel-based. The park tickets and airfare, of course, are not included... so what it means in the end, is that you're able to stay in a more fancy resort for the price of the cheap ones. My feeling is.... when you're in Disney... how much time do you really want to spend in the hotel room versus being in the parks!? Also, I don't need a kitchen with a stove! I don't want to cook at Disney! I barely cook at home.. what am I going to make a pot roast while I'm on vacation???

Eh.. It was a nice fantasy... a cool thing to check out, and I have always really wondered how the DVC really works.... Now, I'm glad we know how it works, and got all the info.... but I just don't think it's for us. You know what IS for us, however.... Dan and I each got a $50 AMEX gift card just for visiting and taking the tour. Nice! :)

After that, we walked around the mall, and then went over to Century 21. We just perused, and departed rather quickly. We came back this way, and were starting to get hungry. We went to Rockwell's for dinner, at about 5:15. We were the only ones there at first! It was not busy at all!

We had a nice meal, I got the same thing I did last time, the Ravioli that I loved... It was great today.. but not as mind-blowing as the first time. I think if we go back again, I will try something new.

After dinner, we got home and did a little ChatRoulette with Re! She wanted to see what all the craziness was about. Unfortunately, we didn't really see that many exciting people... an we even got BLOCKED a few times! Seriously... why would people hit REPORT on US! We weren't doing anything bad. :( Meanwhile, we did see lots of people who SHOULD have been blocked! haha

It was fun, but I think I'm losing my interest in it. It was fun for a week... now I'm ready for the next big thing!

When Kristen departed, Dan and I went to Waldbaum's to get eggs to make Easter eggs!

We bought two dozen, and then returned home. I boiled them up, and we lost four in the process. They cracked.

We had fun coloring them, as usual! It was unfortunate that we couldn't do the egg wraps! The eggs were just a little too big to get them around it! We'll have to save them and have extra next year! We used the wax crayon to draw on the eggs... they came out nice!

Now it's time to get ready for bed! Nothing really big going on tomorrow... should be a nice relaxing Easter Sunday and then a nice Easter Dinner at Dan's parents' house.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com