Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

June 04, 2010 - 11:18 p.m.
"the 2010 spelling bee"

Hey Journal!

Happy Friday! Okay, so I survived the first shortened week back to work after vacation! That's a big deal! It was a little crazy getting caught back up, but despite all the stuff from when I was gone, it was a relatively slow week, which gave me the time to get back in the game!

Today was especially quiet because Dan's dad went to the city today, Diane came in about an hour and a half late. In the morning I got some CPC stuff done, and the rest of the day I worked on various little projects. Some members came in to pay their dues, and that's always a good thing. The mail was pretty light today, but it was a good week for payments.

Instead of listening to the radio today, I put the Spelling Bee on the TV! Yes... it's that time of year again! Actually, coincidentally, I was sitting at my desk this morning thinking... 'Gee, isn't it about time for the Spelling Bee again?" and I checked online, and saw that it was on TODAY! Insane! So I watched/listened to it all day today! It was great. The kids are so strange... but that's what makes it so amazing. The guy who gives the words, definitions, and stuff, Dr. Bailey(?), is another highlight. I feel like he has a very dry sense of humor, but a great sense of humor.

The sentences they give for the words are HYSTERICAL! I love it. And I also love how the contestants try to be all friendly and say hi to Dr. Bailey when they step up to the microphone!

For lunch, I got the special today... the Meatball Parm Hero. It was most enjoyable.

I departed at 5 and headed home. There was a little bit of traffic, and I decided to take a slight detour on my way home. I think, in the end, that it was a bad idea... it probably took me longer that way.. but I was driving down this residential street when I saw a bunch of people coming out of their houses! I was wondering what was going on... and then I saw a car had flipped completely upside down, and was smashed up pretty badly! Everyone was gathering around to see what was happening, and I heard the police sirens approaching!

I got home, watched the news, and waited for Dan. He was running late, which was unfortunate. When he got home, we watched World News (Oh, Diane.. how we love you.) and then at 7:15ish, Kristen and Don arrived to pick us up for dinner. We went to Smokin' Al's in Bay Shore. It was good... actually... it was the first time I've been there and DIDN'T have to wait for a table. It was a little hot inside, though.. but not too bad.

This woman sitting at the table next to us had these enormous finger nails! It was nuts. I can't imagine how she functions in day to day life with those things. She also had a bunch of long and large necklaces, and bracelets all up her arms. Way too much going on there.

After we departed, we came home, and were quite tired. We got in and watched the FINALS of the Spelling Bee! Luckily it didn't drag out much tonight! There were some good parts.... like the girl would KEPT hearing the world "Confit" as "Colfit" He said it about a hundred times, but she was not getting it. Gotta love the Spelling Bee!

Anyway, as soon as that was over, I took a shower, and now it's time for bed!

I'm exhausted!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com