Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 20, 2010 - 10:58 p.m.
"stamps" or "foster's grill"

Hey Journal!

Work was good today. Diane didn't come in because she was sick. There was a special golf tournament today which meant that the course was closed to the members. The top armatures from the "metropolitan area" were having the qualifying round here.

In the afternoon, I went to the Farmingdale Post Office to get stamps for the DVDs! I saw that they were scheduled to be delivered today, and figured I'd get a head start, and get the stamps. I got 900 61 cent stamps, and had to get 1800 10 cent stamps, however they only had 1,200 available! Grr. The lady told me that they would be getting more in in about 2 weeks, and to come back then! WHAT? Like... why would I want to wait two weeks? I could just go to another post office. It's so weird how they act like you wouldn't even think of going somewhere else!

When I got back to work, I had Turkey Barley soup for lunch. After that, the English DVDs came! I was quite excited! Karen didn't come in, so I started stamping them myself, but only got a handfull done. Tomorrow we'll have a stamping party!

I departed at 4:45 and brought the DVDs I had done to the post office, and then headed home. Dan and I went out to dinner to Foster's Grill in Nesconset. I feel like we've been going out to eat sooo much lately, but maybe that's because we don't have TV, and we just figure we'll go out since there's nothing to do at home. It wasn't a conscious decision... hmm.

Anyway, I wasn't all that impressed with the place. It was alright. We had a coupon from the ValPak and it was still ridiculously expensive. I got a grilled chicken sandwich, and it was a small piece of grilled chicken on a hamburger bun with fries. It did taste good, but nothing exceptional. Our meals, with coupon, came to over $17! The place is also really weird because they have signs on all their tables saying there's a $6 per person minimum to sit at the tables, and signs on the bathrooms saying "If you are not a customer, don't use the bathroom." Like... I get it... but it's a little much. First off, it's a place in NESCONSET, not in the city...I'm sure they aren't getting that many people walking in for the bathroom... and if there are a few... so what. You have to deal with it. I dunno... it just gave the wrong vibe. The tables also had Ads all over them, and it was kinda cheapy. I dunno.... I think it was an okay experience, but I wouldn't go back.

So, after that we came home, and did a little more straightening up, and then I took a shower, and now it's time for bed! The night just flew by!

I set up my iPod with a playlist of calming songs to listen to when I'm in bed. When I was little I used to listen to the Gloria Estefan Greatest hits tape every night before bed. First it was the tape... and sometimes I had to get up and turn the tape if I hadn't fallen asleep by the time side one was done! Then I graduated to the CD version.... and now I listen to it on the iPod. That album stays with me no matter what technology there is!

Anyway, I did put a few of those songs on it, but mostly it's Enya and Sarah McLaughlin stuff. I know, I'm weird. If this helps me fall asleep, it may have to become a regular thing!

Now it's time to go test it out!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com