Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 05, 2010 - 11:45 p.m.
"the extravaganza" or "fireworks!"

Hey Journal!

What a great time the Extravaganza was! It turned out so much better than I thought it was going to be, and not because I thought it was going to be bad... it just happened to be better than expected!

I got up around 10:00, watched some TV and waited for Dan to get up. We got ready, and headed off to the Extravaganza at about 11:30. We got there a little before 12. Dan started taking pictures of the tournament, and I began setting up our "Check-In" tent in the front of the building! Jackie had a tent outside with a table, so I just brought out to laptop, and finished setting up the new wireless network I had configured for the occasion. I found an old connection wire in the lobby, and traced it back to the basement, so I was able to get access to the network from the front lawn!

It took a little longer than expected to get the register set up on the laptop because I had never done it wirelessly before, and there was some things that weren't set up properly. Finally, though, it all worked! :)

Dan's mom and I were in charge of the check-in table, and as soon as the Extravaganza started, the line was crazy long! We checked people in continuously!

Out in the back, there was a carnival with activities for kids, food, snacks, DJ, all sorts of craziness. I tried a frozen lemonade with a splash of cranberry juice, and it was really really good.

I closed up the registration booth as it got a little later, and put all my stuff away. Then I went to enjoy the festivities, and get ready for the fireworks. Steve and I went out to talk to the fireworks guy about the timing of the start of the show, and then to the DJ to relay the info.

A little after 8:00, we gave the signal, and it was AMAZING. Because I had put together the music, and heard it about 8000x before the show, I was so worried that it wasn't going to match up with the fireworks and was going to be a complete disaster... but amazingly, it was 100% perfect! The man from the fireworks said they were a few seconds off... but I couldn't tell! It was perfect to me!

It was a 12 minute fireworks show, set to some great music, and was totally one of the best fireworks shows I've ever seen. No Kidding! It was long, the fireworks weren't cheap or cheesy, the night was perfect... you couldn't have asked for any better! The members all seemed to love it, too!

We hung out for a while after the show, we had a few drinks, and decompressed after the crazy long day! I can't believe it's over! It was building up for so long, and now... it's history! Now, my next day back to work, Tuesday, will be the day after Labor Day, and that means things will start slowing down a little!

I'm exhausted now! I can't keep my eyes open! I know it's early for a non-work night, but I have to get to sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com