Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 02, 2010 - 11:16 p.m.
"overflowing toilets" or "election day, foolish voting machines"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up and headed off to work. It was a typical day, nothing special... but I had a lot of stuff to catch up on in the AM. I feel like there's so much going on this week! Geez!

In the afternoon, one of the toilets in the women's bathroom in the restaurant was flushed, and then kept running and running... so apparently, the whole time it was running, it was filling up the cesspool, and once it was full, there was nowhere else for the water to go... so it started to come out of the toilet, and all over the floor. But THEN, the floor drains are supposed to catch it, which they did... but because the cesspool was full, they backed up, too, and the water started coming OUT of the floor drain in the men's bathroom! Then, once both floors were soaked, the water started to spill through some space next to the pipe, and was dripping into the light over Linda's desk!

So, we noticed once the light tile was bulging out with water!! It was crazy! We put plastic over the desks, and then tried to figure out how to get the water OUT of the ceiling! Jackie used a yard stick to push the water, but there was no way to empty it... and then it cracked in half, and water came pouring out of the ceiling!

As gross as it was, it was really lucky that we had the plastic on the desks, and the water ONLY went on the plastic!

I departed at 5, and headed home. I watched the news, and then waited for Dan to get home from work. He was a little later than usual because he stopped at the high school to vote. When he arrived, we went over to Nesconset Elementary for me to vote!

So, this was my first time using the new voting system, and I don't think it's HARD or anything, but I do think it's a little ridiculous. I mean, we had a PAPERLESS ballot system since I was born... why would we REVERT to paper?? Of course, they want to keep a paper trail, and our old voting machines used to do that INSIDE....so, why do WE now need to bubble in! It's so weird. If you ask me, our old voting booths may have looked old fashioned, but they were more advanced than this new system!

They should have just given the old booths a re-design, instead of rethinking the whole system.

While you're filling in the bubbles in the "privacy area" there are people walking around behind you, who can see what you're doing, and then you have to carry the ballot over to the machine to insert it! So foolish.

I miss going behind the curtain and pulling levers. And then there was the satisfying cash-register like sound of the curtain opening to let you know your vote had been cast!

So, afterwards we had to stop by and help my mom move a big potted plant. I was DETERMINED to find out WHO really votes at Tackan this year... so I came up with a brilliant plan. At Nesconset, they have signs on the wall to tell you where to vote depending on your election district...SO, I could just go into Tackan, and see what districts they have!

We went in, and unfortunately, it was much less busy than Nesconet, so a lady came over to help us right away. I told her I had already voted, but I was just really curious as to WHO actually votes at Tackan! She was WILD, and a little over excited, but she explained that it's some people who live closer to Ronkonkoma, and some people who live over by the mall. Not that that really makes sense to me, cause Re lives by the mall, and votes at Nesconset, and I can't actually FIND an address in the "Google Polling Place Lookup" that votes at Tackan... but.. oh well!

So, we came home and I took a shower, and Dan's watching the election results!!

Time for bed now! It's getting late!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com