Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 13, 2010 - 10:53 a.m.
"cable comes to colonial" or "thom!"

Hey Journal!

Yesterday was Friday! Woo Hoo. Work was pretty good, the morning was a little boring. When I first arrived, I worked on a few things I wanted to get done before the Cablevision installers arrived. They were scheduled to come at 11:00, so I hurried up and got everything else finished, so I could spend time with them, and see what they were doing.

Unfortunately, they didn't arrive until 2pm! Geez!! In the meantime, I tried to install the new Verizon "network extender" in our basement, but it won't work there because there's now window nearby to get a GPS signal... which is really obnoxious because the whole point of needing service in the basement is that we are cut off, and can't get signals of any kind down there!!

I think I may have a work-around, but because I was in the middle of testing it out when the Cablevision guy finally arrived, I put that on hold.

He first started by mounting the modems and other equipment on the wall, which was one of the less exciting tasks, so I took that opportunity to go get gas in my car. I was almost empty, and needed it for the way home, so I had planned to go during the day so I wouldn't have to stop later.

When I got back, he was in the process of locating and transferring over all of our phone lines. It was fun watching that, and I guess more importantly, I got to see exactly how things are set up now, so that in the future it will be a little easier! With Verizon, I had to figure it out for myself, and there was a mess of wires everywhere that had been there since 1995! Some working, some old and disconnected... it was a mess! So I'm happy we're going to start fresh... or as fresh as we can!

The man finished about 3 minutes before 5:00, so I quickly tested some things out, and then headed home!

After work, I headed home and Dan and I watched the news, and got ready to go out for dinner. Our friend, Thom, who lives/lived upstate is in the process of moving to North Carolina. We haven't seen him since November of 2008, so he decided to make a stop here on his way to visit us!

When he arrived, we went for dinner to Smokin' Als! It was a good time, and the place was strangely empty! It's usually packed! I wonder why. Unlike the last time we went, the smell was not as overpowering, and our clothes weren't totally tainted!

After dinner, we went to Ruby Tuesday to visit Joey and to have a drink and some dessert. Well, only Thom got a dessert, and I got a Strawberry Daiquiri. We hung out there for a while, and then we came home and watched some TV...some HSN, QVC... you know... all the exciting stuff! It was fun to see him again!

We got to bed around 3am, and right now we're just getting our day started, and getting ready for Re's party tonight!

I'll probably be getting to bed too late tonight to write my entry... so I should be back tomorrow morning with more!!

Adios for now. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com