Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 15, 2010 - 11:07 p.m.
"new phones, new internet, new wires"

Hey Journal!

Today I was looking forward to getting to work and really getting a chance to inspect and fool around with the new phone setup from Cablevision, as well as install the "Network Extender" for our cell phones in the basement! They finished the installation late on Friday, so I really had no time to stop and take it all in!

So, I stopped at the PO Box on the way to work, got the mail for CPC, and then when I arrived, I started by removing all of the old components from our previous phone connection and internet connection. I took a few boxes off the wall that were from the internet setup, but I had to leave two of the bigger ones because they have something to do with fiber optic cable, and I didn't wanna mess with that.

Then I removed all of the old phone wires that came from the ancient "NYNEX" box, coiled them up, and left them for Verizon, should they want to come collect their crap.

Unfortunately, I wasn't able to get rid of as many wires as I would have liked... we have so many wiring blocks on the wall, and they are so ugly and tangled and there are some wires that go off into the building, or onto the property somewhere, and I have no idea where the endpoint is. It's really strange. I know something goes to the halfway house, and something WENT to the old trailer by the driving range, and something goes to the maintenance building... but it's like a puzzle figuring it all out. That's why I REALLY want to be on top of all the new stuff, so that doesn't happen again!

So, then I hooked up the Network Extender. It's an amazing thing that allows us to get cell phone service in the basement by basically making our own little tower. The only downside is that it needs to have a GPS signal to get your location and to operate. Now, the people who designed this were a little stupid, because... why would you assume that you would be able to get a GPS signal in a place where you have no cell service!?!?

First I hooked it up upstairs, but sadly it didn't reach to the basement... but after some testing, I realized you only need the GPS signal to get it started, then it doesn't matter... but you also can't unplug it afterwards... SO I hooked it up in the telephone room in the basement, and used the antenna extender to bring the GPS up the back stairwell, and up to the window. It got the signal, and then I took it inside. The process took about 30 minutes, which is a pain in the ass if the power ever goes out... then I have to do it all over again! Grrr!

I couldn't believe it was already 11:00 after that!

Next up, Wifi! They installed the WiFi antenna in the basement also, however the problem was that our steel floors blocked the signal from effectively reaching the areas of the building where members would be using it. So, I repositioned it upstairs in the lobby, where it now reaches MUCH farther. :)

Today was Karen's mom's birthday, and they came to have lunch in the restaurant. She bought her mom a netbook, and I helped them set it up, and get her started with her own e-mail address. We also came out and sang Happy Birthday to her!

Dan's dad was in today, but went out to play golf around 11:00.

I had lots of other random work to do today, and I still have a pile of crap on my desk to get through. I also had to send out the late invoices for Deposit today, which I did.

I left at 4:45, but got stuck in like ten minutes of traffic for the train! It was ridiculous... what a waste!

When I got home, I watched the news, and then Dan and I watched last week's Glee. It was a good episode, but from people's reactions on Facebook, I thought it would have been a lot better. Kurt also bothers me... he's annoying in so many ways. It saddens me cause I want to like his character, but I don't really.

Then I took a shower, and now it's another late night! Time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com