Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 24, 2010 - 11:41 p.m.
"merry christmas eve!"

Hey Journal!

MERRY CHRISTMAS EVE!!

Well, it's that time of year again! Hard to believe... it feels like it was just LAST Christmas, in so many ways! I'm a little disappointed that we didn't make it to Christmas in Hershey this year! I really enjoyed that last year, but things were just so busy every weekend this year... especially November!

Dan woke up early today and went to the gym, and I got up around 9:30 when the CPC phone rang. I decided I was ready to get out of bead anyway, and watched some TV, and had cereal while I waited for Dan to return. When he got back, he brought eggs and sausage to cook for breakfast! :)

I had started watching Babes in Toyland before he got home, so we watched the first half of the movie before going out! It was great! As if I need to say this, but I LOVE that movie... it's so incredible, and there are so many funny/weird/amazing things about it!!

After we paused the movie, we wrapped a few presents and then headed out to get a few last minute gifts. We needed to get a little something more for Dan's brother, so we went to the Outlet in Deer Park. We planned to look for something in Old Navy. We wound up finding a couple of nice things there, and I also got a sweater and undershirts for myself! When we went to pay, the lady asked if we would like to "spin the wheel for a discount," so I did, and got $10 off! Nice!

We left the outlets, and Dan went to get something at Dunkin Donuts! Then we went to Trader Joe's in Commack to get a gift card for Karen, which I'll give her on Monday, and then to Panera for lunch.

We went to the Panera in Commack, which of course, is the first Panera on Long Island, and the one we always used to go to before they opened the one in Hauppauge! It was like a blast from the past, I haven't been there in YEARS, but it was where I first learned of the wonders of Panera! I was said, however, that they have gotten rid of the high tables we always used to sit at!

Next up, a stop at the bank to deposit my paycheck, and then we headed back home. We watched the end of Babes in Toyland, and then we got ready to go out for Christmas Eve dinner with my mom! Last year, we started a tradition of going to Lotus East, and we continued that this year!

Fred called to say, "Joyeux Noel" and then my mom arrived for dinner. I guess we went a little later this year than we did last year. We got there around 7:15 or so, and while it was PACKED, it emptied out quite a bit by the time we left. Last time, I remember it being packed the whole time. It was a GREAT dinner, though! The restaurant is so warm and Christmasy! Everyone else there was very festive as well, and that helped put me in the Christmas Eve mood!

We had our usual waiter, and he remembered us. He told the lady not to give us menu's because we always know what we want. Then he looked at my mom, and said, "Where's that girl? That's not her!" Meaning Re, of course! Then he came back over later to tell us that he would reserve our table for lion dancing! We are definitely going back for that in February! It was amazing last time!

After dinner, we drove around a little and looked at Christmas lights nearby. Just pretty much critiqued all of the displays! Then we headed back here and wanted to watch a nice Christmas movie. Unfortunately, I don't have any, and Netflix was really lacking in that department!

My mom mentioned a movie that I had liked when I was about 11 or 12, and I had COMPLETELY forgotten about it. It's called Pink Cadillac with Cline Eastwood and Bernadette Peters. I haven't thought about that movie in years and years, but I DO remember loving it! So, we found THAT on Netflix, and started watching! It's a good movie from what we saw so far tonight... we were just getting tired, and decided to call it a night! What a random movie for a little kid to like. I was always weird.

Alas, now it's time for bed, and tomorrow it will be CHRISTMAS! Santa's on his way, so I'd better get to sleep so he can bring me toys!

I was reading my journal from Christmas Eve last year, and I decided to include this excerpt, which I think is true...

-----
It's weird...as much as I guess it does feel like Christmas is tomorrow... there's no substituting the real feeling of Christmas that I used to get from going over my cousin's house on Christmas Eve and all the fun we used to have with Savage in Town, and dimming the lights at dinner, and always sitting at the kiddie table (and loving it!). That's what Christmas always WAS to me, so it's weird to change things around. Even the few years my aunt didn't have Christmas Eve, and we spent it at our house, was very weird. It didn't feel right...

Even if that was still the same... it wouldn't be the same... If you know what I mean... Things change, and that's just the way it is... but they were such fun times... I just feel like we don't really ever have anything to "DO" for Christmas Eve, no real plans, or new tradition, so nothing really defines it. We have no tradition to follow anymore, so I miss when we did!
-----

Speaking of Savage in Town, I just recently finished transferring them from video to the computer, and then putting them all online. (All except the final episode from 2001, which I can't locate!) But away, I posted it on my cousin, Christen's, wall on Facebook! Just a little reminder of our old-time Christmas Eve traditions!

Anyway, time to get to sleep! A full day of Christmas fun tomorrow...
To quote Babes in Toyland, "May we wish you the happiest Christmas anyone ever knew, and may the year to come become the best year ever for you!"

And to quote Clement C. Moore, "Happy Christmas to all, and to all a good night!" :)

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com