Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 02, 2011 - 10:48 p.m.
"iphone needs volume profiles" or "steve's back...his mustache is not"

Hey Journal!

Today was the day Steve returned to work! I got in a little early today and worked on the payroll, and other random stuff. I also had some CPC things to take care of, and a bunch of work piled up that I had to get to. I am happy to report that I got the whole pile done! Woo Hoo!

So, around 11:00, Steve arrived! It's been so long! When he walked into the office, I knew there was something different about his face, but I couldn't figure out what! I knew he looked tanner, and I thought it might be that his lip looked different, but I didn't know what it was! Then when Jackie came in, she immediately noticed what it was... HE SHAVED HIS MUSTACHE! Wild!!! It looks so different, and not only that, but it makes it much easier to read his expressions. I don't know how to describe it! It's just wild!

Anyway, I felt like the day was a little more structured today, and related to work, exactly, but it felt like things were actually calmer today... like I've been doing a million things, and today I was able to put them aside and work on one at a time. Weird.

So, for lunch, the only thing I had to today was beef vegetable soup. It was good, but I should have ordered something more filling.

In the afternoon, we went over the stock reports I had been printing out for Steve while he was gone. He had read a tip in a book, and wanted to see if it was something that actually worked... so we looked back at all these days, and checked to see if the rule applied.

I may have mentioned a few days back that our newspaper advertisement contact is a very annoying bitch. Well, today, just a few minutes before 5, the phone rang, and I just had this desire to pick it up... (it wasn't ringing at my desk, but just the main phone line.) GUESS WHO! Yup, it was her.. and she knew it was me right away. She said "Hi Brian" and then asked if Dan's dad was in. I told her he wasn't, and she said that she wanted to speak to him to let him know what GREAT opportunities they had to offer us. First off, we have gone over this a million times, we don't want to be in the FUN BOOK, or THE "PLAY GOLF PULLOUT SECTION" she's freaking insane!! Then she said to me... she HAD THE NERVE TO SAY TO ME "I hope you don't feel like I'm overstepping you" (Which I don't even think that's the right use of overstepping)... but anyway... It took all I had to just yes her to death without telling her what a heinous beast she really is. Anyway, she said she was gonna call back tomorrow morning to speak to him, and I kinda hope she does, because I've talked about this with him and he's totally NOT interested in any of the crap she's trying to push, (Which is why I keep ignoring her when she keeps trying to push it), and let her talk to him, and he can deny her too.

She's completely missing the point that if you want to sell more, you need to build a good relationship with the client, and NOT piss the client off. I know she wants to try to be a salesperson, but she has to balance it with being a person we feel comfortable with. Instead she just makes us less likely to ever want to contact her again. She's really bad at her job.

And on a related yet unrelated note, the newspaper keeps getting thinner and thinner and has less subscribers now than ever before... It's no wonder we don't want to advertise with them as much. We get a much better response online, and it costs astronomically less.

(That said, we are running one ad for the next four weeks, but that was OUR idea, not hers.)

Alas, I departed at 5, and headed home. No traffic. Yay.

I got home, watched Eyewitness News, and then we went over to Dan's parents' house for dinner! They got the new carpet, and the TV is mounted! We helped set up the new Tivo and fished the new HDMI cable though the wall. We had dinner, too. Ravioli.

We got home a little before 9 and watched The Middle. Then, I took a shower, and now, it's time for bed! :P

I'm really hoping for a good night's sleep! Last night was okay, but my cell phone kept making noises and bothering Dan! I'm really surprised the iPhone doesn't have some sort of setting or app that will allow you to turn off all sounds EXCEPT the call ringer and alarm after a certain time. (Yes, I know you can control all of the sounds individually... but I want a setting that will do it automatically after a certain time every night.) Otherwise, I'd just keep forgetting to either turned it off at night, or back on in the morning. Pain in the butt.

I suspect that lots of people have this problem, because if you go to bed and use your phone as an alarm, you want to keep it near you... Naturally, you need the alarm volume to be on because it needs to wake you up, and traditionally, I would think you would want the call volume on, too.. because a call in the middle of the night might be an emergency. However, a text notification in the middle of the night can usually wait until the morning, and e-mail notifications... I don't think I need to know about the great new sales at Staples, or the latest Apple products until I wake up in the morning. So... the point is, I need a way to use my phone for the things I want at night, without the things I don't want. Help me.

Alrighty.... Time for bed! Getting late!

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com