Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 02, 2011 - 11:13 p.m.
"the news about osama"

Hey Journal!

Well, it turned out that the speculation was true! I stayed up last night to watch the coverage, and sure enough the President made his announcement that the United States had killed Osama Bin Laden! Crazy! I was going to say, "I'm not going to lose any sleep over him," but then I realized that wouldn't be true since I already have! I would have been in bed at 10:30, until they dragged that speech out until 11:20, and I didn't get to bed until 12! lol

Anyway, I think the reaction has been interesting. I think it's completely understandable that people are so happy to hear this news, but it's also at the same time I feel it's a little weird to go running into the streets screaming. I think it's a little uncivilized, what whatevs... I don't really care!

I am also conflicted because while it's a momentous achievement for the US, it also doesn't change much. I mean in the long run, perhaps it will make the world safer... but some people are acting like now that we have found him, the wars are over, people can come home.. and that's so not true! Nothing's going to change in Afghanistan or Iraq... soldiers will be there for a long time to come, some people they interviewed on the news were partying and saying things that made it sound like everything is over and done with!

Alas, I woke up this morning at the usual time and on the way to work I collect the CPC mail from the PO Box.

We had gotten a tong of dues over the weekend, and then during the day I had so many calls with people wanting to pay using their credit cards. I think it may be the single busiest dues day ever. I would have to run a report to check for sure, but I really think we may have outdone ourselves!

Hopefully now that the deadline has passed, the calls will die down, and I can start concentrating on some more important stuff, and some more creative stuff.

In the afternoon I got a deposit ready for the bank, and a bunch of other random things. For lunch, Karen went out to Chipotle and brought my favorite back! :) She got me a steak and rice bowl! Yay! It was a very yummy lunch!

I departed at 5 and headed home. The traffic was BAD! Ugh! It took me forever! I watched the news, and World News had a SPECIAL one hour edition! I thought it was weird that they were Live from Ground Zero in NY because there wasn't even much to see from where they were standing... for that matter she might as well have still been in front of Buckingham Palace in London! I guess it's symbolic, and people get excited over that stuff, though.

I also LOVED the way she said "BIN LADEN" in the beginning of her newscast! It was so strange, and I just so happen to have a sound clip!

Anyway, I took a shower, and now it's time for bed! Another late night! Ahhh!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com