Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 19, 2011 - 9:45 p.m.
"arrival in london"

5/19/11 9:45pm - London
5/19/11 4:45pm - New York


Hey Journal!

We're in LONDON!! WOO HOO!! We're back at the hotel now, and it's 9:45pm here on Thursday night... that's 4:45pm at home!

Tonight's entry is a double! I have to give the report on Wednesday and Thursday! Yesterday morning, I got up and headed off to work! It was a full day of craziness trying to get everything ready for my being out! I had a ton of things to do, and the day went by fast, but at the same time, it felt like it would never end because I was so excited to leave! Linda brought in cupcakes, and I had two! Yumm.

At the end of the day, Steve challenged me to a Sudoku, but we didn't finish it... It was too hard!

It was also an awful rainy day out! The traffic was crappy on the way home, but as soon as I arrived, I finished the packing I had left to do, and got all of my stuff together. My mom came over right after work, and Dan still wasn't home when she arrived. He ran into some even worse traffic on the Northern State! As soon as he got home, we packed up the car!

It wasn't as simple as that, though. My mom went out to open the trunk, and it closed on her head. Then, I opened the car door, and she went to shut it, and slammed her fingers in the door! On top of that, she got caught in a torrential downpour, and was soaking wet! It was quite a disaster!

My mom didn't want to drive us to JFK, so my mom dropped us off at the Golf Course, and Dan's dad took us the rest of the way. He was there for a meeting, so it worked out perfectly. When we arrived, we brought our bags up to the locker room and weighed them. We had packed perfectly! Our big bag weighed in at 44lbs! Nice.

So, we headed off to the airport, and we had no traffic at all! We got there around 8:20 and we had plenty of time before our flight. We got on line to check in, but after about two minutes we asked a woman if we were on the right line. She said, "Nooooo.... this is the line for the late people who missed their flights!" So random... how would we have known! They had no signs at all, and it was a long line for the airline counter! Anyway, it turned out we had to go down to the end of the terminal and do self check-in at the kiosk things.

We did that, checked our bags, and headed to security! We had about 2 hours to kill before our flight, so we wandered around the terminal, and then looked for something to eat. We wound up getting a slice of pizza just like we did last time. Then, we sat and waited. At about 10:30 they let everyone get on the plane, and people are so crazy, they were all rushing to be the first on the plane! It makes no sense... you have assigned seats! The only prize you win for getting on first is that you SIT LONGER! Isn't 7 hours of sitting long enough!?

Eventually, we got on, got our seats, and then it was time for takeoff! At first, they drive and drive around the airport! At 11:30, we were STILL driving around! I started to wonder if we were ever going to take off! We did, at 11:30, and the flight was pretty good. Nothing crazy to report. Unlike last time, we had no WABC reporters on our flight. Sad.

They served dinner, I had the beef with mashed potatoes. I watched the movie The Green Hornet, which I enjoyed, and then they turned out the lights, and I tried to sleep as best I could. I slept on and off, but overall I think I got a good amount of sleep considering. It's hard to find a comfortable position!

When I woke up, they were serving croissants and orange juice. We landed at about 11:00, went through the UK Border Agency thing, and then got our luggage! We picked up the cell phone we had rented, and then put some money on our Oyster cards! We took the train to our hotel, which took almost an hour! Yikes!

We got here, checked in, and then went in search of food! We went to a place called The Slug and Lettuce and I got "Lasagne."

After lunch, we took the tube to Westminster and walked around by the Thames, Big Ben, and Westminster Abbey! Then we got back on the tube and headed to Old Portland Street to see where the BBC Radio 1 studios are. We found the building, and we're gonna go back tomorrow to see if we can see anyone from the Chris Moyles Show. It's a long shot.. but hey... how often to we get the chance to do that!!

Then we took the tube to Angel, which is where our hotel was last year and we had spent a lot of time in that area. We went to a pub that we liked and I had a Beef and Ale Pie. It was very good! Then we purchased some bottled water and snacks from Sainsbury, and took the tube back to our hotel! I fell asleep on the way back, I'm sooo exhausted!

When we got back to the hotel, we took showers, and now we have to get to bed so we can get up early and have a full day of sightseeing and fun! I can't even believe we're here... it's so amazing! AHHH I love London... I love England! I can't wait to wake up here tomorrow! Today feels all crazy since it's been a whirlwind and we haven't gotten much sleep!

Alrighty... of to bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com