Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

June 16, 2011 - 10:59 p.m.
"out with the new, in with the old"

Hey Journal!

I had SUCH an awful night's sleep last night! I went to bed shortly after 11, after writing my journal, and I couldn't fall asleep for anything. First, I think I was uncomfortable for some reason, but then I started thinking about work, and getting all stressed out, and my mind was racing... I was going crazy. I wound up getting out of bed at 12:30, and then I went online for a little and did some research about my computer at work.

Basically, I got a new computer at work two weeks ago. I got a mac because I wanted a nice powerful computer that could do video editing and other cool things I wanted to venture into at work. While I got a great mac, the problem is that so much of our golf course software only works on Windows. I did install VirtualBox, and had Windows running on my mac, but there was so many problems. Not that it didn't work correctly, but that it wasn't feasible.

I found myself using Windows more than the mac, and the screen was tiny! I also couldn't find any of my files, and moving files between the operating system was a disaster too.

So, while laying in bed stressing over this, I made a decision that I was getting rid of it. I looked online, when I got out of bed, and I saw that I had a couple of days left for a return.

Anyway, after that I was hungry, so I had some cereal, and then went back to bed. I didn't fall asleep until sometime after 3, which made for a pretty short night's sleep!

I got up and headed off to work. Dan's dad wasn't in today, he went upstate. He won't be in tomorrow, either.

I spent the first 45 minutes of work setting my old computer back up, and when I was done, I sat down, and it felt like a huge weight was lifted off my shoulders. I felt so comfortable, I knew where my files were, I knew what I needed to do! Ahhh It was the best day of work I've had in two weeks, and I think it's all because I wasn't wasting my time trying to make up workarounds on the new computer.

When Steve came in, I explained the situation to him, and asked him if he would rather me return the computer, or since his computer is was pretty old, I asked if he wanted to use it at his desk. (He doesn't use the Windows-only programs on his computer, really.)

He said he would take it, so later in the day I set it up at his desk, and that was that! :)

I am going to eventually get a new Windows computer, but I have decided not to do that until the winter when it's slow, and I have time to migrate everything over, and get used to it!

I had a lot of work to do, but the day went by quickly. It was a nice day out, so I tried to go out and get some fresh air a couple of times.

At 5:00, I departed and headed home. I watched the news, and then had some of my leftover Cheesecake Factory for dinner. Dan and I watched World News, and then I took a shower, and played for Hanging with Friends.

The night went by pretty fast, and I should have been in bed already to make up for last night! I was exhausted this morning.

And one more note before I go to bed... I am very much liking this song right now... Yasmin - Finish Line. I have no idea why, I just keep hearing it on the radio, and there's something great about it! Apparently it's not available in the United States, but you can hear it on Grooveshark or YouTube, or something like that.

Anyway, off to bed! It totally don't seem like tomorrow's Friday, but I'll take it!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com