Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

June 19, 2011 - 11:21 p.m.
"happy father's day"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up at 9:30, and I was soooo tired! I could barely get out of bed. We had to get up early because we were going to go out to breakfast with Dan's mom and dad for Father's Day.

They decided that instead of going out, they just wanted to get bagels and have breakfast at home. They didn't want to deal with the crowds and were in a hurry to get over to Dziadzi's for a barbecue.

So, we got there, had breakfast, and hung out for a bit. Before they left, I finally took a look at the inside of Dan's dad's new car, and all of the fun voice activated stuff. Pretty snazzy!

After breakfast, we didn't really know where to go, or what to do. We wound up back in Kings Park, and I insisted on a detour to the same 7-11 we had gone to yesterday! They had the lime Slurpee again, and the consistency was PERFECT! I had to get another one! It was EVEN BETTER than yesterday, if that's possible!

It was pretty warm out, and the Slurpee hit the spot! I think I have found a new favorite summer drink. I see a lot of trips to that 7-11 in my future this summer as long as they have that lime flavor!

Next, we went to Hoyt Farm and walked around there. It brought back a lot of memories of our Senior Picnic, and then as we were walking and talking, I realized that it was ten years ago this month that we had that Senior Picnic, an that we graduated from high school!! Our last day of school was June 12, 2001... so that 10 year anniversary already passed! Our graduation was June 24th!

That sparked me to go look at the old pictures on my computer. So crazy. Can you really believe it's been TEN YEARS!! WOW! Time certainly does fly. In so many ways, so much has changed... but at the same time, so much is still the same!

It's also crazy that I got my first digital camera in December of 2000, so this is really the first year that I will start having pictures from 10 years back! I am thinking of starting some sort of feature on Facebook or on Fojin of "Ten Years Ago Today!"

After checking out the "domestic turkey" and the goats, we headed home and played two rounds of Phase 10!

We hung around here for a while, and then at 4:00, we headed over to get my mom, grandma, and grandpa for Father's Day dinner. We picked them up, and then we drove out to the Outback in East Setauket. We had a reservation for 4:45, but they weren't ready for us when we arrived, and we waited about 10 minutes or so.

Dinner was good, we all got the 6oz (except Dan who got the 9oz) Sirloin, formerly the Outback Special. My Grandma and Grandpa's steaks were undercooked, and they had to send them back. Dinner was good though, and I think they all enjoyed.

After that, we came back and had some ice cream, and hung out in the sunroom for a while.

We were sitting in the sunroom for a few minutes, and then my Grandpa randomly got up and went away for a while. When he came back, he had a little laminated keychain with a picture of me in second grade, that I had made for him for Father's Day at school... when I was in second grade, of course. He said he keeps it "in a special place." It was really crazy, I thought... because... I gave him that when I was like 7, and as far as I was concerned, I really never thought about it again... but to think he really thought it was something special, and has kept it in a special place all these years, and it really meant something to him was very touching!

I think I've noticed more recently, over the past couple of years, that he has a softer side than I never noticed when I was little. I mean, he was always nice, and always a great Grandpa... but I mean, he has this sentimental "cornish" (as Dan's dad would say) side that I never noticed. I'm glad I noticed.

Along with the keychain, he also had a ribbon I had given him that said, "Super Grandpa!"

So, we sat in the sunroom for a while and hung out. I was playing some moves on Hanging with Friends, and my Grandma was really into it! She really likes games like that. I think she wishes she had a phone that could do that! :P

Then we left and headed home. We finished up our game of Phase 10, and watched some TV for a while. I took a shower, and got ready for bed, and now it's time for sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com