Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 23, 2011 - 12:25 a.m.
"106 degrees - heat wave" or "valley stream"

Hey Journal!

Happy Friday!

Today was incredibly HOT! It was insane! I got up for work at the usual time, and when I walked out the front door, it was already unbelievably hot! I don't think I needed the air conditioning on the way to work because there was a pretty good breeze as I drove. The office was pretty cool too, which was nice.

I had a lot of work to do to catch up on the stuff I hadn't done while I was out yesterday. Luckily, it was a pretty light day because Dan's dad had to go out and run some errands, so I was alone for most of the day, and used the quiet time to catch up.

Dan's dad had to leave early to go to a wedding, so I had to go bring the deposit to the bank. On the way, I also stopped at a different bank to deposit something for Steve. What a disaster this was! As I may have mentioned before, the air conditioning is my car is struggling. It's not working the way it's meant to. It blows SOME cool air out at you, and it's usually enough to keep your front side cool, but your back still sweats. Today, it was ridiculous. It was 104 degrees outside, and my air conditioner stood no chance. It felt like someone was blowing warm air at me the whole time. I was sweating like CRAZY! I had brought an ice cold bottle of water with me, and it was all gone before I even got to the first bank!

So, I suffered through, and the minute I made it back to work, I RAN into the walk-in freezer. I stood there for about five minutes just taking in the COLD! It was amazing.

When I left at 5, I made sure to prepare myself. I changed into shorts, and then I took a bottle of water, and a big cup of ICE! What a difference it made! The ice was the way to go! I ate some of it, and I held some in my hand as I drove, and it kept me NICE AND COOL! Unfortunately, it was melting quick, and I ran out a little before getting home, but it was alright, I still had the water! :P

When I got home, I watched the news, and then when Dan arrived, we went out to dinner. We went to Smokin' Al's, and as much as I love that place, I swear tonight is the last time I am going to that location! The smell was ridiculous! I left smelling like BBQ, and it was SUPER STRONG! Every piece of clothing, and my hair. I don't even understand how that's possible! Also, the air conditioning wasn't working correctly, so it was a bit of a bad meal time. I felt kinda sick when I left, just cause of the heat inside!

Aside from that, I am really enjoying this heat. Everyone is complaining, but I much prefer this to the frigid temperatures in the winter! I'd rather wear shorts and a tee shirt and sweat a little than be forced to wear fifty layers of clothes and make a mad dash from the car to any place you're going. I told myself I would really appreciate this summer, and that's just what I'm doing!

After dinner, we didn't want to go home, so we went for a random drive, and wound up in Valley Stream. We drove around a little, and then parked in a random parking lot, and took a walk around the town there. We were there for about an hour, and it was a nice night. It was still SUPER hot, but it was fun.

Since we were in the area, we met our friend Alec! We parked behind the China Wok, and then walked around the neighborhood. I was embarrassed that both Dan and I smelled horribly like BBQ. We wound up walking to a nearby school and sat on the steps for a while talking, and then we walked around the back to go on the swings. While we were there, a bell went off inside the school... like a normal school bell... although the timing was a little strange! Alec ran away, and Dan and I weren't really phased by it at all. So... we continued walking and then headed back to the car, and said goodbye!

We got home around 11:55, and immediately took a shower to get rid of the smell! Then we watched some TV, and now it's time for sleep!

This weekend is supposed to be really really nice, and I want to appreciate summer! That's the theme!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com