Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 23, 2011 - 11:30 p.m.
"earthquake!!"

Hey Journal!

Well, I guess I had better get straight to the big news of the day! THE EARTHQUAKE!

It was about 1:50, and Re had just arrived at work. She came in, and went into the office, and I was looking at something on the computer with Dan's Dad. All of a sudden, he asked me if I felt the room moving... in fact, his exact words were "is the whole building moving?" I told him No, and continued to look at the stuff on the computer, and then he said he felt it again. I told him he must have eaten something bad in the restaurant! I felt something a little strange, but...nothing out of the ordinary! I often feel a little dizzy, but nothing to be concerned about. Anyway, Dan called a couple of seconds later to ask if we had felt the earthquake! We were shocked, and we went upstairs to see what was going on!

Everyone had felt it up there! All of the people eating in the restaurant and on the patio were all talking about it, and we put on the TV to see if ANYONE was reporting anything. Nothing was on any of the regular broadcast channels, but we finally found some news on MSNBC! Everyone was glued to the TV! We looked up and saw the chandeliers in the dining room swaying back and forth like crazy! It was really wild! I can't believe it shook that much that it would make the lights sway like that!

We headed back downstairs, but it took me a while to get back to work! I was all preoccupied with the earthquake! I've never felt an earthquake before, and the very little that I did feel today didn't do it justice. I'm kinda a little bummed out that I didn't get the full experience!

So, in case anyone didn't hear already... it was a 5.9 magnitude quake in Virginia.

Later on in the evening, our home phone rang with some ridiculous automated message from the Suffolk County Department of Emergency Management, or something, explaining that we had had an earthquake, and that there was no real damage. Ummm.. Thanks... because at 7pm, I really needed a recorded message to tell me that. First off, who didn't know that we had an earthquake, and second, if you didn't know it by 7:00, then why does it even matter. It was well past the time of the quake, and why would they need to call to say that. So odd.

Anyway, rewind... This morning I woke up a little later than usual, and spent the morning working on the fireworks music, and finalizing the things I needed to bring with me to work in order to go over the music with Steve.

I left home around 10:30, and got to work at about 11. I listened to the Chris Moyles Show on my phone, and really wish it would come back to Sirius already so this nonsense would be over!

I did some random stuff at work in the morning, and then I had to send out the razor that I sold on EBay for Dan's dad.

Re came in at 2:00, and I think I pretty much covered what happened after that!!

I left work at 5, and Re stayed a little while longer to finish some things up. I got home around 5:30, Dan brought a pizza home for dinner. We ate, and watched some of the news, and then at about 7:30, I went over to JC's house. JC wasn't there, but Re was there babysitting little Gil, so I hung out and we played with dinosaurs, and beans, and the trampoline, and such! It was a fun time.

JC got home around 8:45, and we talked to her for a couple of minutes, and then headed out.

On the way home, I stopped at McDonald's to get a McFlurry for Dan, and the drive-up line took forever! There was only one person in front of me, but whatever they ordered, it came out wrong, and then I had to wait and wait and wait!

I got home, took a shower, and now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com