Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 28, 2011 - 2:25 a.m.
"come on irene"

Hey Journal!

Well here we are, Irene is finally here, and it's really starting to get windy and crazy outside! It seems like we've been preparing for this for days, and today we spent most of the day waiting!

I woke up this morning around 9:45 when Karen called me. She forgot that it was the weekend, and tried me at work, and so then she tried my cell phone! She was really sorry to have woken me up, but it was okay... it was nice to get an earlier start the the day anyway!

Dan and I hung around the house for a while, and watched some news, and then we went over to Dan's parents' house to get some bottled water! We had gone to Price Club last night, but they were sold out, and Dan's mom had plenty of gallons, so she gave us two!

Dan's mom was writing a poem and printing invitations to her Hurricane Party for the neighbors!

After that, we headed out to Joey's house to go to the beach and check out the crazy waves! When we arrived, he was in the shower. We hung out for a little bit, and then headed out towards the beach! On the way, we picked up Joey's friend Hector, and then we made our way to Smith Point. As we drove out, we passed lots of houses and businesses that were all preparing the for hurricane! There was a CVS and a 7-11 that were completely boarded up!

Unfortunately, when we arrived at the beach, they had a police car there, and were turning people away! No fair! I LOVE going to the beach before a hurricane to see the giant frothy waves! It's what hurricanes are all about! I can understand them not letting people onto the sand and of course not into the water, but they should let you stand up by the concession stand and survey the scene!

We drove around a bit, and made our way to a Marshall's where we went to look for something for Joey to put his big bamboo sticks in! They didn't have what he was looking for, unfortunately, and we left empty handed!

We also saw two men walking a pony down the street! Wild!

Then we went out to lunch to Ruby Tuesday in Medford! I had never been to that location. We were just at our usual Ruby's for dinner last night, also! So, I decided to be bold and try something new since I had just gotten my favorite Top Sirloin the night before. Today I decided to get the Parmesean Chicken Pasta. It was good! I still love my sirloin the best, but I'm glad I tried something new!

There was a crazy drunk man at the bar while we were eating, and our table was right next to him!

He turned to us at one point and somehow the topic of the hurricane came up. Hector asked him "Do you live new the coast?" To which he replied, "We all live near the coast! It's a fucking island!!" He kept talking, although I tried to stay out of the conversation!

Later, he asked, out of nowhere... "Are you guys on a tour?" Dan asked him, "What kind of tour?" And I'm not sure we ever got an answer. Then he asked where we were from, so Dan took this opportunity to tell him that we were from Virginia. He then asked if we were ALL from Virginia, and Dan confessed... only he was, the rest of us were not. haha

He then got cut off at the bar, and after sitting around for about 5 minutes, he started to leave without paying. The bartender wasn't having any of it, and she yelled at him to come back and pay! It was a wild scene, I tell ya!

After that, we dropped Hector off, and then went back to Joey's for a little bit.

When we got home, we watched the news, and then an episode of Dr. Who from BBC America! Woo Hoo! Then, at about 7:30, I went over to Kristen and Don's house, and Dan went to his parents' hurricane party!

Kristen, Don, and I watched the news for a while, and then we decided to take our minds off the storm and play some Scrabble! Dan came over around 11:00, and when we looked outside, the wind was really starting to pick up!

I had a really bad neck ache today, and wasn't able to turn without it hurting! So, Kristen had these amazing reusable heating pads that you boil, and then reuse! They were amazing, and I tried one out on my shoulder/neck! It really helped! :)

So, our Scrabble game was fun, and I won! Woo Hoo! I never win at Scrabble!

We watched more News, Amy Freeze on Channel 7 was wearing this insane purple outfit. It fit her so funny, and there was a really DARK spot in her crotch! It looked like the crotch was being sucked in. It was so weird. After about 30 minutes of wearing it, she came out with a new outfit, so we figured she must have realized it didn't look good... but then about 15 minutes later, she was wearing the purple getup again! What the heck!?

Anyway, the wind really started whipping, and the rain was coming down hard, so we left around 1:45! We only had a minutes drive, but it was a little scary! There was a lot of debris down as we drove home! We ran inside quickly, and now it's about time for bed!

The power has been flickering a little, but nothing too bad yet! I really don't know what to expect from this storm... I have no idea what it will be like! :P

I guess we will find out soon enough, but I really do hope we lose power for a while! That's when you know you really had a storm!!

Alrighty... Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com