Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 29, 2011 - 11:31 p.m.
"power is back"

Hey Journal!

I was so tired this morning when I got up! Ugh! The power was back on when we woke up, and it came on sometime over night, maybe around 3 or 4ish.

I got ready and headed in to work, and it was so amazingly wonderful to not have any traffic at all! Woo Hoo! I guess a lot of places were closed, so people weren't on the road. Whatever it was, I loved it.

Work was nice and slow today, and I was able to catch up on a few things. In the morning, however, I found a problem with the server. UGH! It was such a nightmare. It wasn't storm related, but the RAID card on the server wasn't working properly, and the computer kept freezing because it would lose connection to the hard drives!

It took me a while to figure out what the problem WAS, and once I did, I started looking for the part I needed. I called Dell, and they didn't have it in stock, but we found a place in the city that did! They wouldn't let us come pick it up, but they shipped it to us for an exorbitant fee! Only $80 for the part, and $75 for shipping. Gee, thanks.

I spent a really long time working on that problem today, and in the afternoon, luckily, I was able to come up with a workaround. I used SATA cables to connect the drive directly to the board, rather than through the RAID card. It worked perfectly, and got the Server up and running. The good thing is now we won't have any downtime tomorrow morning!

For lunch, Dan came to visit, and Dan's dad made us hamburgers! We couldn't figure out how to start the grill so he made them in a pan! We ate at the bar.

At about 2:00, Jackie and Linda came in to move the patio furniture back outside, and to set up for a party the next day. Because I really had nothing I could do without the computer (this was before I found my fix), I folded napkins for the meeting. I did them all fancy! Woo Hoo!

That's what I love about work... one minute I can be writing programs for the office, or making the website.... the next I can be taking a computer apart, and the next I can be folding napkins! It's so random, but the best part is that I can basically decide for myself which I want to do, and when. So, as much as it's pretty crazy sometimes, it's nice to be able to do a variety of things!

I left at 5, and headed home. I watched the news, and had a TV dinner for dinner. I'm sure it was okay to eat. I heard that frozen food can stay in a full freezer for 48 hours without power... and it wasn't even 24, so we should be good!

After I took a shower, I went to work on the music for the fireworks this weekend! I had a lot of work to do to fix all of the transitions, and aso had to fix a weird warble problem! I wound up fixing it by raising the KBPS, and now it sounds perfect!

Then Dan and I watched the Closer! It was a great episode tonight! Captain Raydor's part was amazing! I loved her body movements after she shot the guy with the beanbag gun! It was incredible! I am so going to miss this show! It's so great!

When the show was over, Dan went to bed, and I worked more on the music!

It's super late now, and I gotta get to sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com