Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 05 2011 - 11:00 a.m.
"the extravaganza"

Hey Journal!

Well, yesterday's Extravaganza at the golf course was a big success! We got home around midnight last night, but I was just too tired... so I will fill you in on the day's events!

I got up at about 9:30 and finished working on the music to be played just before the fireworks started! I got all of the stuff I had to bring with me and made a pile by the front door so I wouldn't forget anything! Dan and I watched another episode of Dr. Who, and then we took our showers, and we headed out around 11:30.

We got to the golf course a little after 12, and I started to set up the check-in table. The tent was already set up, but annoyingly, there was no extension cord set up for power, and the tent wasn't even set to the correct height! It was so low that people would have had to duck down to fit under! Ridiculous! They also didn't set up my table with a table cloth. Geeeez.

I had to get the router from the office and bring it upstairs to get the wireless network set up on the front lawn. There was a problem with the router, and I couldn't get it to bridge the connection, so it was a little more complicated that I thought it was going to be! It had been very easy to set up last year, but for some reason, the router kept assigning IP addressed to the laptop, even though I turned DHCP off. I was getting worried that I wouldn't be able to set it up in time, but luckily, it came through at the end! :)

Dan's mom and I manned the check-in desk from 2:30 until 5:30. During that time, we checked in 390 people! Wild! It started out slow, but at one point we had a pretty big line down the sidewalk!

My mom and my Grandma and Grandpa arrived around 4:00, and Brian gave them a ride to the front in his super duper three seater cart!

So, at about 5:30, we packed up the stuff, I unhooked the computer and the printer and all of that, and closed up shop. Then, I headed back to take advantage of the extravaganza and see what was going on!

I hung out with my mom and grandparents for a little while, and then went out to watch them set up the fireworks. I hung out with Dan and Linda over by the putting contest! Lots of craziness! We had a really fun time! I had a frozen strawberry daiquiri, and then Meg made me a cranberry vodka which was very good, and very strong! It took me a while to finish it, and then I had a second one after that! I was preeeeetty drunk from those two drinks!

The fireworks show went off at 8:00, and it was really good! The music was great, which made me happy.... unfortunately, the timing was about 5 seconds off, which meant the fireworks ended just before the music... but I don't think anyone there really minded.

Everyone was clearing out by 8:30! I was surprised how early it was when I looked at my watch because it felt like it should be 3am by then!! It was a lonnng day! Linda's kids came to watch the fireworks show, and after it was over, Dan and I hung out and played with them. They ran up the stairs a million times, and took the elevator down! They loved it! They were running all over the place. Another one of their favorite spots was the walk-in refrigerator! Connor said, "That was a great adventure!"

We left at about 10:30 and headed home. When we got home, I drank lots of water, and then when I was starting to feel the effects of my drink wearing off, we watched another episode of Dr. Who before bed!

All in all, the extravaganza was a great success, and I think everyone really enjoyed themselves!

We finally got to sleep around 12:30, I think, and now we're up and ready to start another day! It was so nice having today off, although it doesn't feel like a three day weekend at all! :P Blah... Maybe because it isn't! lol

Be back later!

Adios for now. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com