Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 17, 2011 - 11:02 a.m.
"shawn and caitlin's wedding"

Hey Journal!

We got home late last night from Shawn's and Caitlin's wedding celebration and I could barely keep my eyes open! So here I am to fill you in on all the details!

Friday morning, I got up and headed off to work. I picked up the CPC mail on the way, and then when I worked on getting all the payments in. The morning went by really fast. There were only a couple of stragglers with the dues payments.

For lunch, I had some french bread pizza, and then before I knew it, it was 3:00, and time to leave for Shawn and Caitlin's wedding.

So, I left work at three and headed home to pick up my camera before heading to the church. On the way to the church, I had to stop at the bank to deposit some CPC money, and then off I went. I arrived right on time, at about 3:50. The wedding started at 4. I sat one row in front of Dan's parents... I was the only one in the row!

The wedding was very nice, however the mass was pretty long! The man who left the ceremony was a little wild. He had this funny inflection when he talked, and at one point, everyone laughed when he started talking, because it was so over the top! He also talked about how Shawn and Caitlin were building a cathedral, and how they are "all about building a cathedral."

After the church, Dan rode in the limo to the reception, and I came home to get ready. I had gone to the church in my work clothes, and so I had to go home to change. I took a shower, and then put on my suit. We hadn't really planned out how I would get to the reception, and because we were running a bit late, it would have been out of the way for Dan's parents to pick me up, so my mom came by on her way home from work. It was actually perfect timing. I finished getting ready, and then she drove me to Timber Point.

On the way, I had to stop to get a card at Walgreen's! Dan was going to get one earlier in the week, but he forgot! :P

So, the reception was fun, the cocktail hour was a mix of outside/inside in "the fairway room." Then everyone headed inside and we found our tables. We were at Table 12, which was an interesting choice of tables for us, as we had mostly old people at our table who we did not know.

The food was good, I got the Chateaubriand, and the cake was very good as well. I think there may have been two types of cake, actually... and I saw the other kinda and was happy with the one I got. Also, when the waitresses and came with the food at dinner time, they all marched out of the kitchen, a whole line of them, and they surrounded the table, and presented the food all at once to everyone at the table. It was actually kinda cool, and everyone got their food at the same time, but it was such a weird sight as they all marched out! It was wild.

A little later in the evening, they set up a soft pretzel stand in the gazebo outside! It was a little unusual, but I LOVE soft pretzels, so I was really excited. The kid working the softpretzel gazebo was funny, Dan conversed with him for a while. We went outside with Varley and Shawn's friend Pat, and we got pretzels, and then ate them on the porch. Unfortunately, they had a barbecue grill where they were keeping the pretzels to keep them hot, and it was overcooking them!! Mine was a bit overdone! We wound up putting them in the large potted bushes outside of the front door!

It was a great idea, though... I mean, it'd not every day you see a gazebo serving soft pretzels.

We left the reception around 12:00 and took the shuttle bus to a hotel over in Islip right near the airport. We were on the first bus, so it took a while for everyone else to arrive. We hung out in the lobby while some people check in to their rooms. It was a while until everyone was there, but it was fun hanging out in the lobby and everyone was talking and stuff. Then, we moved into the hotel bar.

It was such an odd bar. I mean, first off, I didn't expect there to be a BAR like this in this particular hotel. Then, when we went inside, it felt like you stepped back in time, and into a bar in one of the southern states! It was really wild. It was fun though.

We hung out there until about 1:30am, and then we decided to head home. My mom was going to pick us up, but I had only had a few drinks back at the reception, so I wound up driving us home.

Now, we're up and getting ready to go over to Caitilin's parents' house for a post-wedding brunch!!

Adios for now... :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com