Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 05, 2011 - 11:23 p.m.
"linda is leaving, is lauren returning?" or "steve jobs"

Hey Journal!

Well, what a crazy night. I had just finished watching World News and Jeopardy, and then I was doing random stuff when they interrupted Wheel of Fortune with breaking news that Steve Jobs had died! It's so crazy, and so sad! When you think about it, he really invented some amazing stuff, and was able to figure out what people wanted before they even wanted it. He knew how to fill a void in the marketplace before anyone but him knew there was a void. And it's not just Apple.. but Disney and Pixar, too! He was a major influence at Pixar, and owned about 7% of Disney making him the single largest shareholder. He was also on Disney's Board of Directors! So wild how much influence he had.

Where will Apple go from here? There are probably still a handful of products that he was instrumental in designing that will see the light of day over the next few years, but beyond that... only time will tell! We can only hope he set the company up with the right direction to pick up where he left off!

Everyone knew he was sick for a while, and of course he resigned several weeks ago, but what a shock to hear he is actually gone. I think it's almost more shocking than Michael Jackson. Maybe also because Michael Jackson may have been seen has having left some of his best days behind him (even though he was still making new music.) But alas, it's wild.

So, now, back to the beginning of my day. I woke up and headed off to work. I did the payroll, and then worked on random small projects throughout the day. It was quiet in the office, and I went upstairs for a bit. There was a funeral lunch scheduled for about 1:00, and they were supposed to have about 40 people, but wound up showing up with 67! INSANE!

They had to set more tables, and rearrange the dining room, all with the people there waiting to sit! I helped out but wathcing the door, and doing other random things. I also helped bring out new food whenever their buffet was running low. I have to say, I had fun, and it was nice getting a change of pace from the office. I also got a lot of exercise being on my feet and walking around a lot up there. I was probably there for about an hour. But see, that's kinda why I like my job... If I get bored of one thing, I can go do something completely random... but the best part is that it's totally my choice.

So, Linda made her announcement official today by telling everyone at work that she is leaving. It's really sad for me... which I mentioned yesterday, but really... I am going to miss her so much. In the almost eight years I have been there, she is definitely the person I have become closest to. She is also one of the few people around my age, and also is someone who I can joke around with, and can joke around with me, and realizes WHY weird and random things are funny!

On the bright side, there is a chance that Lauren will return to the golf course! That would cheer me up, because I wouldn't be left without a friend. Of course, if she doesn't come back... I really hope we can get someone who is "friend material."

So, I left at 5 and got home around 5:30. Dan was at work late for a going away party for Christine. Yes, he's going though a similar thing!

I watched the news, and then as I mentioned before, the rest of the night was consumed with the craziness regarding Steve Jobs.

I took a shower, and then Dan got home around 10:40. We watched a little TV, and now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com