Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 09, 2011 - 11:50
"pumpkin picking adventures"

Hey Journal!

This morning, I had such a hard time sleeping. I had set my alarm for 10:00, but unfortuantely, I woke up on my own at about 8:30 and then kept trying to get back to sleep, but I kept waking up every couple of minutes! It was terrible! :P I finally got out of bed a few minutes before the alarm went off, and I got ready for our fund day of pumpkin picking!

We planned to meet Linda, Dan, Connor, and Cameron at the iHop in Hauppauge at 11:00, and they got there slightly before us. They put our name down, and there was about a 25 minute wait. We got there a little before 11, and hung out outside until they called us!

Breakfast was good... I got the special All You Can Eat Pancakes, with Eggs and Sausage. I didn't actually get a pancake refill, but the price was only .40 cents more than my usual, and with that I got two extra sausages and has browns, which I normally wouldn't have gotten... So it was well worth it!

Connor got the create your own face pancakes, and it came with a tube of yogurt that you're apparently supposed to use to "draw" on the face. When he poured it out all over his pancakes, it was all curdled, and.. according to him, looked like cottage cheese. (Linda doesn't know how he knows what cottage cheese looks like!) Anyway... after conferring with the waitress, she said it always looks like that, and is a result of the way that they are shipped frozen.

So, we had our breakfast, and then hit the road out East! Today was an unseasonably warm day, and apparently everyone had the same idea! We had to take two cars, since there were six of us going, so we split up, and Dan and I took Connor in our car, and Linda, Dan, and Cameron went together.

We made good time getting out to Riverhead, but the last 5 miles took over 30 minutes! There was an insane amount of traffic on Sound Avenue, and all around there. Yikes. Connor was really good in the car! We played a couple of games...and he really enjoyed spotting the mailboxes on the side of the road! As we were driving down the expressway, with Dan and Linda following us, we asked Connor how fast his Dad usually drives... just to make sure we weren't going to slow for him. Connor told us, "400 MPH."

So, we finally arrived out there, to Harbes in Mattituck! We wandered around and checked it out, and then went over to the other side of the road where they had the Corn Maze and hayrides. Dan and Dan went to get a drink, and also picked up tickets for the maze. It was Wizard of Oz themed. The maze was okay, but I still can't understand why no farm on Long Island can create a maze where the corn isn't all see-though! WHY can't they make it bigger, and more confusing, with big dead-ends! I need a challenge! Ugh! At the end of the maze, we ran into the cowardly lion, who could have been Lauren! It was wild, she reminded both me and Linda so much of Lauren.

She jumped out and went "ROARRRR," to which Connor replied... "You're craaaazy." She gave us a coupon as a reward for having finished the maze, and then we took the long way out... we wound up passing by her again, and she acted as if she hadn't just seen us two minutes before. She gave me another "reward." And she was picking up a piece of corn from the ground, and then pretended to be all startled, and dropped it! it was hysterical. I loved it.

After the maze, we went on the hayride. There was a man lightly strumming a guitar for the ride. It was quite interesting. Next, Connor and Cameron went through the bouncy "castle" thing... and then we went back to the other side of the street. We fed the goats, and then got Roasted Sweet Corn! It was AMAZING! I got two ears of corn. I absolutely LOVE roasted corn!

We hung out for a while, and then we picked out some pumpkins, purchased them, and hit the road on the way home! It was about 6:30 when we left. We took an alternate route back to the expressway to try to avoid the "red" traffic areas that I saw on my phone. We didn't hit any traffic at all until we got onto the expressway, and then there was a little until about exit 67. Then it opened up.

Dan and I were hungry for dinner, so we went to try out the new Chipotle in Hauppauge. It was a nice location, and such a nice night out. We ate outside on the patio! My steak was SOOO good. I got so much steak, and it was cut up into small pieces, and it was perfect! :)

As I mentioned before, It was unseasonably warm! Over 80 degrees, and a beautiful sunny day! I don't think I have ever gone pumpkin picking in my shorts before! Usually we wear hoodies! It was really a nice day... and I just heard on the news that tomorrow should be just as nice! What a bonus for me... I have off tomorrow, AND a beautiful day! What more could I ask for!? Well... I guess I could ask for Dan to be off, too!

When we got home, I took a shower, and then got ready to watch our Sunday night TV. We watched Desperate Housewives, and then we watched PanAm! I enjoyed PanAm tonight... I really do like this show. Sometimes it's a little slow, but I do really like it.

Alas, now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com