Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 25, 2011 - 10:57 p.m.
"iphone guilt"

Hey Journal!

My whole day has been overshadowed by iPhone guilt. I was talking to a friend tonight, and somehow the subject of the iPhone came up. I asked if he had iOS5, and he said no. I told him how great it was, and that he should definitely upgrade! (I kinda wanted him to get iMessage!) He said he was worried about losing his data, and I told him that I did it with no problem at all, and that it makes a backup before it does it. I told him that I did have a problem putting it on Linda's phone, but I was able to fix the error, and it was restored. Then, he asked me how long it would take. I told him about an hour or so. He said it was too long, and would probably do it another time.

I guess a little later, he changed his mind, and... to get to the point, it messed his phone up, and he can't even get the phone to work at all. Apparently, after updating the software, he was going through the few steps it asks you to complete, and unfortunately he didn't have a WiFi network to connect to. It said you could also complete registration via iTunes, but when he connects it, it says that there is some sort of network connection error.

Of course I know it's not my fault... I have nothing to do with the strange problems Apple has with updating iPhone software, but I feel terrible that I recommended it! UGH! I feel like such a bad friend. AND I feel like I want to try to fix it, but I can't. UGH! I know that I'm not to blame for the problem, but I feel like I suggested it, so if it wasn't for me, he wouldn't be in this situation! On top of that, I know what it's like to be worried about losing all the info on your phone! It's crappy.. and I feel bad that he's in that situation!

I am never telling anyone to do anything ever again.

This morning, I got up and headed off to work. I listened to the Chris Moyles Show as I got ready. There wasn't much traffic today, and I made good time. I'm sad that it's getting colder out, day by day. I really am not looking forward to the winter. It's already too cold for me. This is why I think we need to leave NY. Either that, or NY has to have some serious climate change.

Anyway, I got to work and had a lot of random things to do. I have had a TON of random papers on my desk for a long time, and I tired to get through as many of them as possible today. File things that needed to be filed, throw out stuff I don't need, and make sure nothing slipped through the cracks!

For lunch, I was going to order one of the specials... a sausage and peppers meal, without the peppers. The sausage looked so good... unfortuantely, they had already mixed all the ingredients together, and I HATE peppers.

In the afternoon, I went out to the bank to make some deposits for CPC, and then when I got back to work, I started some work on a new feature I want to include in the membership billing program. I just finished completely redoing the credit card billing system, and now I want to add a new feature that allows us to re-charge the last credit card used by a particular member without actually having the card info. I think it will really make things easy! :)

I departed at 5:00 and headed home. When I got back, I watched the news, and then watched our creepy neighbor from across the hall come home from work by looking through the peep hole. It was the oddest thing. This woman came with him today and helped him get inside, but he was over by the front door, and she ran into his apt, and started cooking his dinner, and left him in the hallway, and then she came out and got him a couple minutes later, and he was complaining about how he was hungry, and wanted to eat NOW! Why wouldn't she have just taken him inside FIRST, and then began to prepare his dinner. It was really weird. Also, it is so disconcerting that he has almost no use of his legs for walking purposes, but he still gets behind the wheel of a car. I mean, it has to say something that you CAN'T MOVE YOUR LEGS PROPERLY then you can not PROPERLY operate a motor vehicle. You need to react FAST, and that is definitely not an option for him. That would explain the accident he had earlier this year. All I can say is stay away from him on the roads. (Also, I think he drinks and drives, which could only make matters worse.)

When Dan got home, he brought a pizza for dinner, and then we watched World News.

Of course, this was followed by the fateful iPhone incident I described above, and then I took a shower.

Now it's time for bed. Gonna go to work just a little later than usual since Re is coming in tomorrow! She didn't come in on Saturday and there are a ton of checks to be processed, and we need to get the money in the bank!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com