Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 24, 2011 - 10:50 p.m.
"Happy Thanksgiving"

Hey Journal!

Happy Thanksgiving! :) I can't believe today was already Thanksgiving... maybe it's because for the most part, the weather has been unusually warm for this time of year, but it just feels like it snuck up on us this year!

So, we had recoded the parade, which started at 9:00, and we started to watch it. It was very enjoyable, although I have to say I was disappointed with the singers this year... there weren't really any performers that I wanted to see. And not only that, no big performers that I would even CONSIDER to be big performers. It was a bunch of no names, and has-beens! :P

We fast forwarded thought the commercials and some of the bands and Broadway performances, so we actually caught up by the very end of the show, and finished at the same time.

I took a shower, and then we got ready to go. I went online and paid some bills, and then we left around 2:40 for Dan's parents house!

We arrived a little earlier than the designated 3:00 time. Dan's grandma and my mom got there a little later. It was a pretty typical Thanksgiving. We talked, and hung out. It was a little smaller than usual, but it was nice to have to day off, and to reflect on the things we are thankful for! :)

After we ate dinner, we sat by the fireplace and watched some TV, and then we had dessert. Dan's grandma left shortly after and took Dan's brother with her. Dan, me, my mom, and Dan's mom played sequence. In the first round, my mom had several wild cards, and didn't play them. She could have prevented Dan and I from winning! Then, in the second round, they won. We played a final third round, and Dan and I won, however, I placed the winning chip, but had no idea it was even the winner! I was just going for a different sequence, but luckily Dan knew, and announced our win!

Tabletalk was a little bit of a problem tonight... we had to keep reminding everyone that it is never acceptable to have tabletalk during a game of Sequence!!

We left around 8:45, and headed home. We watched TV and then got ready for bed. I was going back and forth on whether or not I wanted to go shopping for Black Friday. These are my feelings... Dan and I checked out the circulars this afternoon, and we didn't really see anything exciting that we wanted to buy, but that has never stopped us before... We have always gone just for the excitement of waiting in the lines for the stores to open at 4am!

This year, since I had been out Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday at Woodloch, I decided that I should go to work on Friday just to catch up. It would be too much to wait till Monday.

Anyway, on top of that, our favorite stores pushed their opening times to MIDNIGHT! How weird. It just isn't the same. The whole excitement for us is getting up at 3:00 and meeting at the diner. Checking out the circulars again, and planning out route! Then getting to the stores at 4am with lines wrapped all around the building... it's just so amazing.. but i feel like it was all taken away by the 12:00 start time. I mean, if we went to the diner at 11:30, it would just be like a late night diner visit... nothing special. They kinda blew it.

So, after careful consideration, I decided not to go. Just stay home, get to sleep early, and go to work at the regular time tomorrow.

I am a little sad that this is then end of our Black Friday tradition... it's been going on since the year I worked at Best Buy... before that, I didn't even know it happened. But now Target and Best Buy have ruined it for us. So, it is what is!

Anyway, off to sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com