Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 22, 2011 - 11:07 p.m.
"a day off" or "mall hopping"

Hey Journal!

I took off from work today since I have a lot of vacation time remaining, and since Dan was off anyway, I figured it would be a nice day to spend together.

We got up around 9:30 and watched the end of Live! with Kelly, and then we headed out to deliver the Toys for Tots from the golf course.

Last year, Linda and I brought them to an Armory somewhere in Amityville, and it was pretty crazy. This year, they moved the location to somewhere in Farmingdale. Dan had called to find out the address a few days ago, so we headed over there. We drove up and down the street, and couldn�t find it for anything. None of the buildings had numbers, and then all of a sudden, I spotted a small sign on the fence that had the Toys for Tots logo on it. We headed in, and there was a giant parking lot with nothing else around, and then a building on the complete other side.

We made our way over to the building, and there were a bunch of doors for different companies, but none of them were labeled, so we had no idea which one was for Toys for Tots! We made our way around the back of the building, and finally spotted one window with a Toys for Tots sticker on it. We went inside, and sure enough, this was the place. There was only a desk inside, which looked broken, and a phone on the desk. It was so ghetto.

The guy told us he would open the warehouse doors, and we could bring the toys in that way! We had two giant bags, and we carried them in, and then left.

It was all very anti-climactic. I mean, It would have been nice if they asked our name, and maybe sent us a certificate to thank us! It would be nice to have something like that to hang up in the golf course, and maybe that would encourage more members to get involved next year!

I think they really need to rework this program to make it easier for people to donate toys! First off, when we called the number today to find out where they were, a message came on saying to call back between 10 and 1...even though it was 11!! Ridiculous!

Then, the warehouse is so shady, and they have no recognition. I think they could do so much better if only they tried a little harder at making it a little more user-friendly. Heck, I was ready to turn around and dump the toys in the lake if I couldn�t find that place!!

Anyway, after that we were pretty hungry, so we went to Wendy�s. We had missed the breakfast time, so I got a baked potato and some nuggets. We ate there, and then we went over to Target. They had these great pajamas on sale, and I bought them, but I tried them on when we got home, and they are just a little too small! They were out of the bigger sizes, so I will have to return them. :(

Then we made a quick stop at the golf course for Dan to send an e-mail for one of the jobs he�s applying for. He needed to reply to something and attach a file, so we went there to take care of that.

After that, we began our day of mall hopping. We went to the Sunrise Mall and I showed Dan the Koi pond! That�s the one I went to with Linda before Halloween. We walked around, and I got a shirt in Hollister.

Then left, and wanted to get a Slush at Sonic, but it wasn�t time for the Happy Hour yet, so we went to the South Shore mall to kill some time. We walked around there, and then I wanted to get some soup from Panera. They had my favorite Chicken and Wild Rice, so I couldn�t resist. When we got to the table, I noticed my soup had a hair in it. I was just going to take it out, but Dan wanted to bring it back... so he did. They gave me a new bowl of soup, and then the manager came over a couple of minutes later to say he was going to refund our money! Score!!

So, I got my free soup, and then we headed over to Sonic for our half priced Slushes.

Our next mall-hopping stop was the Smith Haven Mall! I really have to say that our mall is the best. Maybe it�s because it�s what we�re used to... but I feel like the others didn�t have all the stores... like, one had some, and the other had some, but neither had ALL the stores you�d want. I feel like our mall is just the right size. I guess I�m just a creature of habit!

Anyway, we walked around, and be bought a Pig Popper for Connor in Brookstone! Then we left to head home, but we stopped at Toys R Us to see if they had anything for Cameron and we got her a doctor play set!

We got home just in time to watch the news, and Dan made Macaroni and Cheese for dinner. We played two nights of Jeopardy, and then I took a shower and got ready for bed!

We started to watch the new Prep and Landing Christmas special, but it�s pretty late, and I have to get to sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com