Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 04, 2012 - 10:51 p.m.
"a leaky pipe"

Hey Journal!

So after I wrote my entry last night, I got into bed and just as I fell asleep, Dan came in and woke me up to tell me that there was a leak in our kitchen! Well, actually... there has been a leak for about a week, but now we know where it was coming from!

See, the past couple of times we ran the dishwasher, we noticed a small amount of water on the floor. We figured it was that the seal wasn�t quite right with the dishwasher, but weren�t super worried about it. Well, it turns out it wasn�t the dishwasher at all... which I guess is a good thing.... but it�s the pipe under the sink!

It probably happened mostly when the dishwasher was in use because we run the water in the sink a lot BEFORE running the dishwasher, and then it all dripped into the cabinet, and made it�s way out. Too bad we didn�t notice that before! Woops!

The bottom of the cabinet was all full of water, and we had to take everything out and dry it off. Luckily, it wasn�t damaged at all... not warping, or anything.

We investigated further when I got home from work, and found that the leak is coming from the top of the pipe where it meets the sink, and just that part needs to be replaced. Nothing too drastic, it seems, BUT we are thinking of getting a new sink all together, because ours is very shallow, and I don�t like that very much. I�ve always wanted one.. this may be a good excuse. Also, the knobs on our sink are getting a little old looking, so it�s time for a new faucet and all!

So, I got up this morning at the usual time, and I was exhausted from having not gotten back into bed for real last night until a little after 12!

Today was a pretty usual day at work. For lunch, I had my standard grilled chicken and broccoli, and then we had a Sudoku challenge at the bar. While we were up there, Kathleen called me over to show me a very strange problem with the cash register. She was ringing up some food, but discounting it all, and for some ready the TAX was still showing up... It wouldn�t zero out. Very odd. I wound up just closing the ticket and re ringing it, but it still makes no sense why that would happen!

Steve won the Killer Sudoku game we played, and Lauren won the regular one. I haven�t won in a really long time... I really need practice!

In the afternoon, the guy from our printing place came by to deliver our special Buy One, Get One Free coupons! It was a super-fast turn around time. I ordered them yesterday, and they told me it would take 3 days... but instead they came by to deliver them this afternoon!

I had to go upstairs to open the front door for the delivery guy, and when I came up, he told me that the shirt I was wearing was his favorite color!! (It was just tan.)

Anyway, I departed at 4:40 to bring a package to FedEx which had the title for Dan�s Dad�s old truck. I dropped it off, and headed home.

We didn�t have dinner when we got home... We took a little while to examine the sink and figured out what the problem was. It was the metal piece that holds the pipe to the sink strainer... it was broken and leaking, and that�s why our whole cabinet was flooded! We are going to go out tomorrow and get the stuff we need to fix it. In fact, we may actually get a brand new sink! I never really liked this one anyway, because it was too shallow. Only 6 inches, and water always splashed out. It would be great to get a deeper one, but we need to measure it and find out the prices.

We watched The Middle at 8, and then I had some leftover stew for dinner! It was very good stew! :)

Now it�s time for bed!

Until tomorrow....

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com