Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 05, 2012 - 11:25 p.m.
"a new sink"

Hey Journal!

I got up this morning and headed off to work. It was a pretty quiet morning, and I worked on getting our special �Buy One, Get One� coupons ready to mail. I put them in piles of ten each, and then I typed up the special letter that we are going to send out with them. Later in the afternoon, I went out to find some businesses to send them to.

We wanted to send them to local businesses between us and route 110. I wanted to send them to small to medium sized businesses that probably have office workers who go out to lunch every day, but have no idea that we exist, or that we are an option for lunch!

I drove up and down the streets back there writing down the names of companies that I thought would be a good fit, and then when I got back to work, I looked up their addresses, and got their little packages ready to send out. It says inside that we are sending them to �select local businesses...� and we really are! I hand selected them! :P

Anyway, before I did that, I had a list of things I needed to get done outside of work today, so I left and went over to the cemetery to drop off some papers, and then I dropped some letters off in the mail, and then drove around getting addresses, and finally wound up at Staples.

I had to get two new signs laminated, and the lady told me it would take about 10 minutes, so I went over to Home Depot next door to check out their sink selections.

They had some good choices, and I also found the little while pipe that we need to replace the part that was cracked. I got that part, but nothing else, because Dan and I wanted to go out tonight together to pick out the sink.

I went back to Staples and picked up the laminations and also bought a new binder for the payroll since I forgot to order one for the new year!

I got back to work, and Steve wanted to play a Sudoku right away! We went upstairs and played a quick game. This time I was doing so well! I really though I was going to win... but Steve won again. I was soooo close though!! I only needed a couple more numbers... I was about 20 seconds behind him! Blast!

I departed at 5 and listened to the Sachem radio on the way home. It was that same show that I�ve heard before... and let me tell you... these poor students have no voices for radio. They have no skill at all, sadly. I know they are novices and are just learning, but woah! They don�t talk at all fluently, and they are boring as can be! Overall though, that station is really good. They play good music, and they have no commercials. I can�t listen to regular radio at all because there are so many commercials I can�t take it, and I have no interest in the stupid things they talk about!

When I got home, Dan was making spaghetti and sausage for dinner! It came out really good! Also, Dan baked a cake today! He made two Christmas tree shaped cakes, and they were in the oven when I got home! Later on, he decorated them with green icing, and put m&ms on as decorations! They came out really nice!

So, we ate and watched the news, and then went out to the store to get started on our sink project!

First, we went to Lowe�s because we had a 10% off coupon from the USPS. We checked out what they had, and they didn�t have any reasonably priced sinks. The comparable sinks that I had seen in the afternoon at Home Depot were still cheaper than Lowe�s even with 10% off. We did, however, find a nice faucet we liked, and so we got it there, as well as a couple of things we needed for the job like plumber�s putty.

Then we went over to Home Depot and got our trusty new sink. What kinda annoys me is that we would have been able to fix the leak in our old sink for about $5. But instead, we turned the whole project into a $200+ dollar ordeal. Although, we have always wanted a deeper sink, and the old faucet was kinda crappy, so it�s nice to have a new sink and a new faucet. The deeper sink will definitely we much nicer... I just feel like we went and spent money we didn�t need to.

Anyway, we got what we needed, and made a quick stop at Target to get milk.

Then we came home and got to work on the sink. In the afternoon, I had consulted with Mike at work about what the problem could be, and he left me a book on my chair with a note. It was a plumbing book, and the note said to keep it, that it might come in handy. And it really did. It really explained how to do what we had to do, and it made the job a lot easier! Thanks, Mike!

I turned off the water and unclamped the old sink from the counter top. I unhooked the water, and then we lifted it out. It came out pretty easily! I was surprised, and I never really knew how easy it was to remove a sink! Then we lowered in the new sink and hooked everything up again. Again, it was surprisingly easy. We hooked it up, and unfortunately there was a small leak in one of the pipes under the sink. I think that the piece I got in Home Depot this afternoon was defective. It was the right piece, but the screw wouldn�t tighten enough. We�re going to go out tomorrow and get another one to finish the job!

Anyway, the installation took just a little over an hour, and then I took a shower. When I got out, we had some of Dan�s cake, and now it�s time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com