Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 22, 2012 - 12:34 p.m.
"dayglow in east stroudsburg, pa" or "freaking amazing"

Hey Journal!

OH MY GOD!! DAYGLOW WAS AMAZING!! I can't even tell you how cool it was, or what an amazing time we had! It was ridiculous!

Let me start at the beginning! We woke up yesterday around 9:30 and got ready to go. We packed up, and then went out to the bank. We had to deposit some checks, and I had some CPC checks to deposit as well.

After that, we headed over to pick up Jerry. We wanted to get bagels beforehand, so we stopped at the Islandia shopping center. The bagels were disgusting, btw.

Anyway, we got Jerry and Sam at 11:30, and then we were off to Pennsylvania for the experience of a lifetime! lol

We hit a little bit of traffic on the Cross Bronx Expressway because there was a street sweeper cleaning one of the lanes, and it was causing tons of traffic. So ridiculous! Why couldn't they do that at night!? That wound up costing us a half hour.

Once we got to New Jersey, we stopped at that mall that we've stopped at before. I think we went there once with Jen B on a trip to Cortland.

Our mission was to find some more suitable pants to wear last night. Unfortunately, all the white pants were either weird, or too expensive to buy with the intention of only using them ONCE. We checked out H&M, but strangely, they didn't sell any men's clothes, and then we went to Modells. Nothing there either. Finally, we went into Sears, and we found "Painters Pants" that were actually pretty good, then Jerry spotted some white jeans that were the same price, and were more stylish, so we went with those! Both Jerry and I got them, and they were PERFECT!

We headed out, and then got back on the road. We stopped shortly after that at Cracker Barrel for lunch. I got the chicken and dumplings, as usual. It was good.

We got to East Stroudsburg, PA around 4:00. We went to a dollar store and bought glow sticks, and I got a neon blue watch. Then we went to Giant to buy some snacks for later in the evening, and also to get juice to mix with the vodka we brought to pregame.

Then we went to Sonic to buy slushes, and then off to the hotel. It was the Howard Johnson in Bartonsville. It was an alright hotel. Probably one of the least nice hotels I've ever stayed in, but it served our purpose, and it wasn't bad. The price was also good.

While Dan checked us in, we unloaded our stuff from the car, and as we were doing that, a guy walked by carrying a giant plastic monkey! It was very strange!

So, we got into the room and got settled in. We took out our outfits, and then we had some drinks. We put vodka into the slushes, and they were really good!

The whole day, up to this point was absolutely beautiful! I had been going back and forth on what to wear for Dayglow all week. The forecast said it was going to be cold and rainy, and so I brought pants and a hoodie, but at the same time, I didn't want to be out of place, and I didn't want to be cold, and I didn't want to be hot! It was very stressful! lol

So, just after we got to the hotel, it started to rain. That made me feel a little better about my decision. Up until then, it was a beautiful sunny day, and it was actually almost 80 degrees out! Unexpected!

So, we got ready for Dayglow and had our drinks. Then at 6:00, we called for a taxi, and they said it would take about 10 minutes. They were right on time. We got in the cab, and the guy was very nice.

We were expecting the ride to be a lot more expensive than it was... It was only $15, and that was split among the 4 of us!

So, we arrived, and still had no idea what to expect! The rain from earlier had only lasted a few minutes, so I wasn't sure if it was going to rain again, but it did feel like a storm was coming. When we arrived, we had to walk up a hill, and then over to the tent to get in. They told us to take everything out of our pockets, and checked to see what we had. Apparently, they were making people throw out glow sticks, which was a little strange. They were selling glow sticks for like $10, so I guess it was just so that they could make more money selling their own!

At first, they made us all line up on the tennis court area, which was far back from the stage, and a little lower down. We were at the very front of the line, but it got very chaotic as time went on. Then it started to rain. Everyone was getting antsy to get over by the stage, but it was windy and there was lightning, so I think that's why they kept us back for a while! At about 7:40 or so, they let us go up to the stage, and everyone was stampeding there! It was crazy, but a lot of fun!

We were pretty close, and the music started shortly after. The rain started coming down even harder! It was insane! For a while, there were torrential downpours, and then for most of the rest of the night, it was just raining normally... which was still pretty hard!

Surprisingly, the rain wasn't too bad. It didn't ruin the event at all! We had an amazing time! This is where I feel like I can't even begin to describe what happened! It was just so much fun! The music was much better than we thought it was going to be, and to be honest, we were really there for the paint anyway, but it was nice that the music was good!

Everyone was jumping and having a great time! We were all smooshed together, and it was craziness! Then they had the first blasts of paint! I had a couple of splashes on my face, and so did Dan, Jerry, and Snola. It was funny because at the time, that was SOOO cool, but it got to be so much cooler later on!

I worked my way up to the very front row of the stage, and stayed there until the next paint blast. I got a lot on me, but again, not nearly as much as later!

Around 9:00 or so, I would say, we decided to head towards the back and we used the porta-pottys, and then looked for where they were selling paint. When we found the paint table, there was no need to buy paint.. they were just throwing at us! It was AMAZING! One girl had one of those pool water shooters, and a giant bucket of paint.. she was filling it up, and squirting it all over the place. I put my sunglasses on, and she shot it right in my face! It was soooo wild! Then a girl with blue paint was throwing it all over! I was COVERED!

We went back to get Jerry and Snola to show them the paint table, and when we found them, we got some more green and red! It was pandemonium!

A couple of strange things... While we were up near the stage, the girl kept pinching me, and then she asked me to dance with her, and I KEPT moving away from her, but she KEPT following me!! Finally, Dan and Snola had to form a barrier to keep her away! And when I went back to get Jerry and Snola later, I bumped into her again, and she was like "heyyyy!" YIKES! I ran!

Oh, and there was a group of girls that we befriended in the beginning. There was a girl with freckles, and a hat that said "buttslut." She was WILD and she and her friends were nice! We talked to them while we waited for them to let us up near the stage, and also saw her a couple of time after that. They were fun.

A lot of people commented on how covered in paint I was! They were all asking me where I got it from!

Anyway, a little after 10, we decided to try to beat the crowds down to the taxi area.

Now, at this point, we were pretty warm. I felt fine the entire time... it was warm in the big crowd of people, and I was really happy with what we decided to wear! Once we left the group, though, it was COLD, and I was happy to have my sweatshirt, even though it was covered in paint and rain water. It was cold, but not as bad as if I didn't have it.

We made our way to the entrance, where people said that taxis would be waiting. There were none. We called for one, and they said it would arrive in 20 mins. But it never came. Everyone was kinda stranded, and we didn't know what to do, and it was FREEZING cold. Some people who worked there said that taxis might not be coming since we were all covered in paint! All we knew was that we HAD to find a way back!

For a while, I stood in a little guard booth thing with about 8 other people, while Dan, Jerry, and Snola stood outside. It was warmer in there, guarded from the wind!

We wound up waiting for an hour for a taxi, and we didn't even know if one was coming. But we finally were able to get one. This was probably the longest hour EVER since we were freezing cold, and had no idea how or if we would be able to get back!

The guy who picked us up was very nice, and he took us back to the hotel. We gave him a generous tip.

We got back to the hotel, and we took a TON of pictures. Looking in the mirror was incredible! I had no idea how covered I was, and how amazing we all looked! It was INSANE and INCREDIBLE!

What a FUN time! I had no idea what to expect going in, but it TOTALLY lived up to my expectations! I REALLY want to go again. I think I'd like to go to another outdoors one... I think it was better because it was just more open, and the fresh air was nice. It was also nice to have the music, which was really loud, outside... it kinda dissipated in the open air, and my ears weren't ringing when we left!

The taxi situation could have gone better, but in the end, it all worked out, and it was all worth it! It even added to the experience.

Next time, I'd like to try it minus the rain, but in the end, even that didn't matter... it was still a WILD time. AHHH! DAYGLOW!

It was one of the best nights ever. No doubt. I think everyone should go to one of these if they get the chance! And my advice would be to get as much paint on you as possible!

So, we got back to the hotel and took pictures like crazy! Then, one by one, we showered and washed it all away! Snola went first, then me, then Dan, and Jerry went last. We had to get more towels from the front desk! The paint came off very easily, but it there was a little leftover in my ears which I found later! I still have some on my ear, actually... and so did Dan and Jerry... so if you ever go.. remember to do a REALLY good job getting the paint out of your ears in the shower later.

It's watercolor paint, and it's very thick. Like tempera paint. When you get it on your skin, it starts to sting a little as it dries, but it's not bad, and it doesn't last long. It didn't bother any of our eyes, and believe me, it was definitely in my eyes. I also had contacts in, which I was worried about, but nothing bad happened, and it didn't bother me at all!

After we were all showered and clean, Jerry ordered a pizza from Dominos. The was supposed to be delivered in 45 minutes, but took and hour and 15 minutes to come! By the time it came, we were all ready to just GO TO SLEEP, but it really hit the spot. As soon as we were done, we went to bed!

I had a hard time falling asleep, possible because i was so hyped up from the whole thing, and then I woke up a bunch of times in the night.

Otherwise, I still think I got a good night's sleep. We went to bed around 1, and got up at 8:30. Jerry and Snola had to work today, but I'm glad we left when we did. We were home at 11:35, and that's after we dropped Jerry and Snola off. It was nice to be back at home and relax!

Now I'm off to do some random stuff! Be back later with today's entry!

I shall leave you with these words of wisdom...

DAYGLOW WAS AMAZING!!!!


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com