Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 27, 2012 - 11:22 p.m.
"last day in london" or "journey home"

5/27/12 - 11:22pm New York
5/28/12 - 04:22pm London

Hey Journal!

Well, we're finally home! It's been a long day with a lot of travelling, and we're pretty exhausted!

We got up this morning around 9:30 and I took a shower, and we packed up all of our stuff for the trip home.

Then, we dropped our luggage off at the baggage storage in the hotel, and headed out for our last day in London.

We got some breakfast at a little cafe on Great Portland Street, and then we walked down to Oxford Street. We wound up taking the tube to Blackfriars because every other time we've been in London, this station was closed and crossed out on the map, so since it was finally opened, we wanted to see what it was like.

The station was really new looking. We walked along the river for a little bit, and then went to Westminster to walk across the bridge there and take one last look at 'Big Ben' and Parliament.

Finally, we headed over to Marble Arch to get food from a Sainsbury's over there. I wanted to get two more ham sandwiches and some orange juice! I got a big carton of the orange juice, and drank it all before getting to the airport! I loved their orange juice and ham sandwiches... I'm gonna miss them so much!

At about 2:15, we started to head back to the hotel, and we picked up our bags. At 3:00, we left the hotel, and walked to Paddington to get our train to Heathrow!

We took the Heathrow Express and had to wait about 15 minutes for the train to leave the station, and then 15 minutes to get to the airport. When we got there, we checked our luggage and then headed to return our little wireless device.

I have to say that that device was much better than the phone rental last time. It was so nice having use of my phone, and all the apps on it that I use here at home. We were able to look up places to stay, maps, and other things so much more easily. And at just $50 for the trip, it was worth the investment.

We headed through security, and there was no line at all. Yay! Then we went to the bathroom, and off to gate 19! We got on the plane and found our seats.

The plane was scheduled to leave at 5:15, but I think it left just a little later than that. The flight was good, and we weren't tired or tempted to sleep on it. I watched some interesting things on the TV. First, I watched an hour documentary about the Queen, and then I watched two episodes of the TV show "New Girl," which Jerry told us was good!

After that, I watched Part 1 of Twilight: Breaking Dawn. Yes, I gave in. I know I wanted to wait until after I read the book to see the movie.. but let's face it... If I haven't read the book by now... am I really going to?

So anyway, I watched the movie, and I thought it was pretty good. I was surprised by it though, and didn't expect what happened!

Finally, six and a half hours later, we finally landed at JFK a little before 8pm in NY which was 1am for us!

Linda and Dan picked us up at the airport, and after we made it through the LONG customs line... we got our luggage, and then met them outside of the terminal! They drove us home, and we told them about our trip and stuff.

When we got home, we got our stuff inside, and it was very nice to be home! It was a little stuffy inside, so we opened some windows, but everything was nice and neat... which made me happy. I'm glad I insisted on cleaning up before we left! Then I took a shower, and we watched a little TV. We watched last week's episode of the Middle, and now we're off to bed!

It's been a LONG day, and it's 4:30am to us, so we're really past due for bed! Luckily, no work tomorrow!!

It's weird to think that just 8 hours ago or so, we were walking around London....

Anyway, it's good to be back!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com