Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

June 10, 2012 - 1:46 a.m.
"grandpa's 85th birthday party"

Hey Journal!

Today was my Grandpa's 85th Birthday! Woo!

This morning I got up a little before 10:00 and watched some weird shows on TV. Saturday morning TV is always a little strange. Dan had already left to go volunteer for his old job. I watched a little bit of some animal show, and then got ready to go over for my Grandpa's birthday party!

So, I left the house around 11:00 and on my way I stopped at the Smithtown Post Office to get an application for a passport for my mom. Now that she's coming on the cruise in January... she needs to get a passport! She's never had one before.

I got the application, and then headed over for the big 85th Birthday party.

I arrived around 11:30, and Aunt Maureen was already there with Stephen, David, and Gabriel. I said hello to everyone, and we hung out for a while. The party didn't officially start until 1, but we all know it really started as soon as I arrived.

My mom had bought him a crown to wear for the occasion, and he wore it proudly all day long!

While we waited for other to arrive, we took some pictures with Grandpa, and he was sitting in a chair with balloons tied to it. First my Aunt Maureen wanted her picture with him, and then Stephen, then my mom, then me... and finally he asked "who's back there now!?" It was like a line to get your picture with Santa Claus!

Alexandra was there, and then Ryan and Eric came a little later after a game they had. We flipped through the channels, and stopped on Willy Wonka, and we all watched the movie.

While we were watching my Aunt Regina and Uncle Charlie arrived. Then a little later, Christen came as well. Matthew also dropped by, but he was working today, so he could only stay for about an hour.

After Willy Wonka, Nanny McPhee came on. I really don't think I've seen that movie before... but it was pretty good! I enjoyed it! We only missed a few minutes in the beginning, and a few minutes in the middle when we stopped to sing Happy Birthday and have some cake!

Later on, we went outside, and Grandpa was just watching the sprinkler next door. I have to say, though, after inspecting it, it was a pretty nice sprinkler.

I was also looking at the garage door, and noticed that the battery was dead on the remote keypad. I tried to take the cover off, but I couldn't get it to come off for anything! Grandpa came out and said that there was also a problem with the sensor that allows the door to close, and makes sure that noone is in the way. He said he had broken it, and had to call the guy to fix it. I looked at it, and it was only disconnected. I clipped it back onto the track, and aligned it with the other one on the other side, and it worked! Woo.

At about 7:30, everyone left, and the party was officially over... but I was still there...so of course it wasn't really over.

I remembered that I had a Best Buy certificate for $10 off anything, and I had to use it today because it expired today! My mom and I went there, and I HATE being forced to find something to buy when I don't need anything. I couldn't find anything that I wanted, or anything I wouldn't mind having to put money towards. Ugh. I contemplated getting a $10 iTunes card, which is what I have done in the past, but unfortunately, I couldn't find any $10 ones! Ridiculous!

In the end, my mom wound up getting an iPad case for herself to use it up!

On the way back, we went to 7-11 to get a lotto ticket for my Grandpa. There was a huge Powerball jackpot tonight, and he also wanted a regular ticket, so we picked them up for him.

When we got back, I hung around for a little while longer. My Grandpa said that he had a very nice 85th Birthday, and that it was nice having everyone come over to celebrate. But he said that more than having everyone over for his birthday, he enjoyed seeing everyone together and having a good time.

At 9:30, I left and headed home. I had talked to Dan earlier, and he said he wouldn't be home till much later, so I didn't rush home.. but when I arrived, I was surprised to see that he was already here.

After a little while, we decided to go out and take a ride around, and get out of the house. We stumbled upon some sort of all-night Relay-for-Life thing, and checked that out.. but other than that.. we just headed home around 12:30.

When we got home, our most hated neighbor was sitting outside of the front door. He had just arrived home, and we saw him heading this way, so we figured we would wait for him to get inside. Instead, he decided to park himself right in front of the door and smoke. UGH! We didn't want to walk by, because he would likely ask us to do something for him, and we wanted no part of that.

Anyway, we finally for inside, and I took a shower, Dan took a shower, and now it's late, and time for sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com