Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 08, 2012 - 10:53 p.m.
"a new radiator cover"

Hey Journal!

This morning I woke up around 11:00, and Dan was already out and about. He had to wake up around 7:45, and leave the house at 8 to meet Jerry at the park and ride, and get their bus out east!

I made plans with my mom to go out and do random things, but I had to wait until she was done with her haircut around 1:00. In the meantime, I watched a TV show on some obscure channel! It must be new or something... it's channel 846, and it has all different shows about America.

The show I started watching was about train rides across america. They showed some of the most beautiful and scenic train rides through or around national parks. Along with each one, they showed the cool train cars, and gave a little history about the railroad and the national park that you could visit by rail.

It was a pretty interesting show. About halfway into it, I decided to record it for Dan to watch, and I also recorded the end for myself!

When my mom came, we went to the diner for lunch. We went to Candlelight in Commack, and I got an open face turkey sandwich. It came with mashed potatoes, and a soup. I got the cream of turkey soup. I really went all out the turkey today!

Our waitress was really nice. She was friendly, and kooky, and fun. I liked her a lot.

It was a good lunch, and I had half of the sandwich and mashed potatoes to take home with me! Mmmmm! I'll definitely have that for dinner one day soon!

Next, we went over to Target and took a walk around there. I was looking in the shampoo aisle because I really want to get a shampoo that will make my wiry brillo-like hair more straight and manageable. I wonder if this is even possible... but I really think it may be with the right shampoo or conditioner! I looked online and get mixed reviews from weird things like Yahoo Answers. I really don't even know how to describe my hair properly to look for the correct answer. Is it thick? Is it curly? Is it dry? I don't even know where to begin. I wish I knew someone who knew hair and could recommend a particular shampoo! Someone who actually knows what they're talking about!

Anyway, I wound up getting a travel size of one of the Pantene varieties to give a test. I wasn't thrilled with the results tonight, but I assume it may take more than one washing, so I'll give it a little longer.

But back to before... After Target, I went back with my mom to take a look at the radiator in my Grandma's bathroom. It was getting old and really rusty, and my mom wanted me to replace it.

After I assessed the situation, we went to get what we needed. We went to Lowe's first... only because it was closer than Home Depot. They really didn't have what we were looking for... and that didn't surprise me because I remembered that Dan and I were looking for a radiator end cap, and they didn't have them there a few months ago. Anyway, we wound up going to Home Depot anyway.

They DID have what we were looking for except for a right side end cap! They had the main piece, and the left cap! The guy there said that they would be getting more in on Wednesday. So, I got what we could, and we headed back.

It was really a project getting that thing replaced! First off, it took forever for me to unscrew the old one from the wall! It was ridiculous! Then, I couldn't figure out how to get the "hangers" as they are called out from behind the pipe! I never could figure that out... because even if I could bend the old one and get it to slide out, I would NEVER have been able to get the new one back in its place. It was ridiculous!

I wound up using the old hangers with all of the new stuff. It made no sense to me at all!

That was a pretty ridiculous project! It took longer than I expected, but probably just about an hour total. It was also crazy hot in that bathroom. The central air was on, and the rest of the house was nice and cool, but this bathroom was just soooo hot! I was sweating like crazy!

When I was done, I had a little chicken that my grandma had made for dinner. I wasn't too fond of the taste of it, but I wasn't sure what it tasted like. Later, she said it had some sort of lime flavoring, and while I usually like lime, I don't think it was meant for chicken. It was just a little weird, so I didn't have too much.

Then we went to Burger King and got Hershey Sundae Pies for dessert. On the way back, I was still kinda hungry, so we stopped at Wendy's and I got some of their new spicy chicken nuggets. I like the spicy nuggets, but you definitely need a drink with them! I didn't get one this time, and my mouth felt like it was on fire! I think it's a little weird that they put the spicy nuggets on the dollar menu, and made the regular nuggets more expensive. Weird.

So, today Dan was at the Boardy Barn with Jerry, and as I had mentioned, they left early in the morning to get there. Jerry wasn't feeling well, so instead of staying until about 8:00, they decided to leave a little after 5. Since their bus wasn't coming until later, Jerry called his dad to pick them up, and so they had to wait a little while for him to come.

Originally, my mom was going to drop me off at the park and ride when Dan got back there, and I would be able to drive him home if he was still feeling a little drunk, but it turned out that he didn't have much to drink at all, and had stopped earlier enough that he was perfectly fine to drive home himself.

My mom dropped me back off at home at about 8:30, and then Dan got back about 10 minutes later! We watched that train show that I had recorded earlier, and then I took a shower.

Dan said it was probably a good thing that I didn't go with him today. He didn't think I would have liked it. I was also apprehensive because I don't like beer, and it really seems like a beer excursion. Apparently you get beer all over you, and that didn't appeal to me either!

Alas, now it's time for bed! Back to work tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com