Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 22, 2012 - 12:28 p.m.
"a perfect summer day" or "adventures with julio"

Hey Journal!

Today we had an insane full day, and I am sooo exhausted now... but it was such a nice and beautiful day out, and we had a fun time hanging out with Julio all day! It was a perfect summer day!

I woke up a little before 10 and watched some random Saturday morning TV. They always have those weird animal shows on. Then Dan got up, and we went out to get a bagel. On the way, we stopped at the bank to deposit a check they had been laying around for a while.

Around 12:30, we picked up Julio, and we headed out to Ikea. He had to return some items he had purchased recently, and so we took a number and waited. Their return system is so messed up. I like the idea of the number, so you don't have to stand in line for a long time... but they way they do the returns is insane. They have four people working, but in reality only one is working at a time. Each time an item is returned, the finish with the customer and go into the back with the item, and they disappear for about 5 minutes, not helping anyone. I've never seen anything like it at any other store. It's so strange.

Ikea also confuses me because they call their employees co-workers. Is it only me or does that not make any sense at all? A co-worker is someone you work with. So, if I work at Ikea, and there's a door that says "co-workers only"... doesn't that mean my fellow employees can go in... but not me? I mean... if someone said to me "Only your co-workers can ring up your purchases." That would mean that if I was buying something, I couldn't ring myself up.. but the people I work with could do it for me. Ugh.. Things like that bother me.

After Ikea, we headed down to Freeport. Julio wanted to walk around the Nautical Mile and find a waterfront location to have lunch! We walked around a little bit, and found some items for Julio to use in decorating his apartment. He's going for a beach theme, so he needed some fishing net to put things in.

For lunch, we went to a place called Hurricane Harry's, I think it was. It was a little place near the water that had a man playing a guitar. Later, we learned that he wasn't really playing. He was playing background music on his iPhone, and singing along. He's no Norman Vincent... that's for sure! Anyway, our lunch was good.. I got a chicken parm hero, and we each got a frozen strawberry daiquiri.

Our waitress was a little ditzy/bitchy. I wasn't really sure which one it was... but she came off as bitchy, which I later decided was just that she had no idea what she was doing.

After our lunch, we headed for more waterfront adventures, but this time we hit up the north shore! We drove to Callahan's Beach and we parked and walked to that little cliff overlook. Then we walked down to the beach and made our way halfway to Sunken Meadow. It was so hot and the sun was beating on my white-as-can-be skin, so we didn't make it all the way to Sunken Meadow.

It was a PERFECT day out, though. We kept saying it all day long, but it REALLY was. THe temperature was perfect, the sky was so blue, the trees were so green and full! It was definitely the best day of the summer so far. Everything was incredible.

I got a couple of GREAT pictures from the cliff, and after that beach, we went to Nissequogue River State Park. We wanted to show Julio the view of the sound from the fun and friendly surroundings of KPPC!

We walked around there for a while, and made our way around the buildings. There was a door WIDE open to one of the buildings, and it brought me back! It took soo much willpower for me to stay outside and not just walk in and wander around! II would have LOVED to go inside! Ahhh! It was calling me.

Next we took a drive around Nissequogue, and went down to Long Beach. More BEAUTIFUL views. We took more pictures, and just enjoyed the day. We drove around looking at the huge houses, and then we started looking up their property taxes online. Some were as high as $74,000! That's insane!

We stumbled upon a little town "park," and I was shocked to realize IT WAS THE PARK FROM THE ELECTROLYTES INCIDENT!!!! I was just trying to find that entry in my Journal, but I couldn't find it anywhere! I was really curious as to when that was. I'll have to ask Kristen... I bet she'll remember.

Anyway, after that park, we went to 7-11 and I got a Slurpee, and Julio and Dan went to Ralphs and got Italian Ices.

Then we went to the mall to look for more things for Julio's apartment, and then over to Marshall's/Home Goods. He found a serving tray with women in bathing suits on it that said "Let the good times roll." It was pretty funny... I think it'll look good in his apartment!

Our next stop was at Loew's because Julio needed rope to wrap around the heating pipe that runs through his apartment. We found the rope, and a nice old guy who worked there helped us measure it out. I think it will go really well with the nautical theme!

We were getting pretty hungry by then, so we decided to go to Lotus East for dinner. Of course, we had our favorite waiter, Gene. He was his usual self tonight, and we had a nice dinner. We got chicken lo mein, pork fried rice, and sesame beef. We also each got wonton soup!


I know I've said it before, and I say it often... but Lotus East has the best Chinese food ever! Amazing.

After dinner, Julio needed a coaxial cable for his TV, and we tried to go to Radio Shack, but they didn't have the correct size. While he was in there, the lights randomly went off for like 30 seconds. Dan and I had waited out in the car, so we were very confused as to what was going on!

He needed this cable, so I remembered that I had an extra one in my drawer at work. On our way to bring him home, we stopped by to get it. I brought my keys because I fully expected the building to be empty, but instead they were still there cleaning up from a party.

We said hi to everyone, I got the cable, and I also gave Julio a Clambake 2010 shirt! I told him I REALLLLLLY want a Google NYC shirt, so I figured that would be an even trade! :P

We dropped Julio off around 11:30, and then we headed back home. I was soo exhausted when we got back, I can barely keep my eyes open!

I'm ready to get to sleep! I took a shower, and now it's finally time to go to bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)

bed 12:28 now

"a perfect summer day" or "adventures with julio"Hey Journal!

Today we had an insane full day, and I am sooo exhausted now... but it was such a nice and beautiful day out, and we had a fun time hanging out with Julio all day! It was a perfect summer day!

I woke up a little before 10 and watched some random Saturday morning TV. They always have those weird animal shows on. Then Dan got up, and we went out to get a bagel. On the way, we stopped at the bank to deposit a check they had been laying around for a while.

Around 12:30, we picked up Julio, and we headed out to Ikea. He had to return some items he had purchased recently, and so we took a number and waited. Their return system is so messed up. I like the idea of the number, so you don't have to stand in line for a long time... but they way they do the returns is insane. They have four people working, but in reality only one is working at a time. Each time an item is returned, the finish with the customer and go into the back with the item, and they disappear for about 5 minutes, not helping anyone. I've never seen anything like it at any other store. It's so strange.

Ikea also confuses me because they call their employees co-workers. Is it only me or does that not make any sense at all? A co-worker is someone you work with. So, if I work at Ikea, and there's a door that says "co-workers only"... doesn't that mean my fellow employees can go in... but not me? I mean... if someone said to me "Only your co-workers can ring up your purchases." That would mean that if I was buying something, I couldn't ring myself up.. but the people I work with could do it for me. Ugh.. Things like that bother me.

After Ikea, we headed down to Freeport. Julio wanted to walk around the Nautical Mile and find a waterfront location to have lunch! We walked around a little bit, and found some items for Julio to use in decorating his apartment. He's going for a beach theme, so he needed some fishing net to put things in.

For lunch, we went to a place called Hurricane Harry's, I think it was. It was a little place near the water that had a man playing a guitar. Later, we learned that he wasn't really playing. He was playing background music on his iPhone, and singing along. He's no Norman Vincent... that's for sure! Anyway, our lunch was good.. I got a chicken parm hero, and we each got a frozen strawberry daiquiri.

Our waitress was a little ditzy/bitchy. I wasn't really sure which one it was... but she came off as bitchy, which I later decided was just that she had no idea what she was doing.

After our lunch, we headed for more waterfront adventures, but this time we hit up the north shore! We drove to Callahan's Beach and we parked and walked to that little cliff overlook. Then we walked down to the beach and made our way halfway to Sunken Meadow. It was so hot and the sun was beating on my white-as-can-be skin, so we didn't make it all the way to Sunken Meadow.

It was a PERFECT day out, though. We kept saying it all day long, but it REALLY was. THe temperature was perfect, the sky was so blue, the trees were so green and full! It was definitely the best day of the summer so far. Everything was incredible.

I got a couple of GREAT pictures from the cliff, and after that beach, we went to Nissequogue River State Park. We wanted to show Julio the view of the sound from the fun and friendly surroundings of KPPC!

We walked around there for a while, and made our way around the buildings. There was a door WIDE open to one of the buildings, and it brought me back! It took soo much willpower for me to stay outside and not just walk in and wander around! II would have LOVED to go inside! Ahhh! It was calling me.

Next we took a drive around Nissequogue, and went down to Long Beach. More BEAUTIFUL views. We took more pictures, and just enjoyed the day. We drove around looking at the huge houses, and then we started looking up their property taxes online. Some were as high as $74,000! That's insane!

We stumbled upon a little town "park," and I was shocked to realize IT WAS THE PARK FROM THE ELECTROLYTES INCIDENT!!!! I was just trying to find that entry in my Journal, but I couldn't find it anywhere! I was really curious as to when that was. I'll have to ask Kristen... I bet she'll remember.

Anyway, after that park, we went to 7-11 and I got a Slurpee, and Julio and Dan went to Ralphs and got Italian Ices.

Then we went to the mall to look for more things for Julio's apartment, and then over to Marshall's/Home Goods. He found a serving tray with women in bathing suits on it that said "Let the good times roll." It was pretty funny... I think it'll look good in his apartment!

Our next stop was at Loew's because Julio needed rope to wrap around the heating pipe that runs through his apartment. We found the rope, and a nice old guy who worked there helped us measure it out. I think it will go really well with the nautical theme!

We were getting pretty hungry by then, so we decided to go to Lotus East for dinner. Of course, we had our favorite waiter, Gene. He was his usual self tonight, and we had a nice dinner. We got chicken lo mein, pork fried rice, and sesame beef. We also each got wonton soup!


I know I've said it before, and I say it often... but Lotus East has the best Chinese food ever! Amazing.

After dinner, Julio needed a coaxial cable for his TV, and we tried to go to Radio Shack, but they didn't have the correct size. While he was in there, the lights randomly went off for like 30 seconds. Dan and I had waited out in the car, so we were very confused as to what was going on!

He needed this cable, so I remembered that I had an extra one in my drawer at work. On our way to bring him home, we stopped by to get it. I brought my keys because I fully expected the building to be empty, but instead they were still there cleaning up from a party.

We said hi to everyone, I got the cable, and I also gave Julio a Clambake 2010 shirt! I told him I REALLLLLLY want a Google NYC shirt, so I figured that would be an even trade! :P

We dropped Julio off around 11:30, and then we headed back home. I was soo exhausted when we got back, I can barely keep my eyes open!

I'm ready to get to sleep! I took a shower, and now it's finally time to go to bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com