Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 22, 2012 - 10:21 p.m.
"how to save a turtle's life"

Hey Journal!

This morning I woke up around 10:00, and Dan and I watched This Week on ABC. I had leftover Chinese food from last night for breakfast, and then we got ready to head out for the day.

We left around 11:45, and got some gas in the car, and then we headed out towards Alec's. We picked him up, and then went out to lunch. Dan drove us over to where he works to see the buildings. The gates to the parking lot were closed, but we saw it from the outside.

Then we went to a nice pizza place near there called Mama Theresa's. Dan said he went there with people from work recently. The pizza was pretty good!

After lunch, we went to Eisenhower Park to take a walk around. Although Alec doesn't like to experience nature, or do anything outside, we coerced him to take a walk around the lake. As we started walking around, Dan noticed a little baby turtle swimming around. As we looked closer, we noticed that he would swim down, but then every time he would be pulled back up by a ball of junk that was stuck to his foot! He was so small, and we felt bad! I went over to a tree nearby and broke a branch off. I used the branch to pull the turtle out of the water, and put him on the sidewalk.

Around his back foot was a big ball of fuzz. It looked like a clump of frayed yarn or something! I tried to pull it off using the stick, but it wasn't working very well! I didn't want to touch it... because... I don't really like touching creatures!!

So, a man and his daughter were walking by, and they noticed what we were doing. The man offered to help, and he picked the turtle up, and tried to separate the thread. It was wrapped around his leg, inside his shell, and then around his head on the other side! The man was able to untangle him, and before we threw him back in, he offered his daughter the chance to hold the turtle. He asked if we wanted to hold it... but we didn't!

He put him back in the water, and away he swam!

I know it was really random, but if we hadn't gone to the park, and if Dan hadn't seen that turtle... he probably would have kept doing that all day long, and eventually died because he couldn't get food! So, I feel very good about our good deed for the day! I'm really happy we were able to save a turtle's life...I hope he lives to be a nice old turtle, and remembers those nice boys who pulled him out of the water, and the man who wasn't afraid to touch him!

So, we continued our walk around the lake, and then headed back to the car. It was pretty hot out, so we decided to stop at 7-11 to get a Slurpee! I got a large one because the difference in price is so minute! I think I've been jipping myself by getting the medium. The only thing is, you don't get the little game piece with the large... and that could have been the big winner!!

I kept asking "what if?" today, so we were discussing alternative universes that would exist based on every decision you make. lol

Anyway, after that we dropped Alec back off at home, and Dan and I headed home. We stopped at the mall and walked around. Dan got a couple of new shirts in H&M, and then we went to Penny's and I got a shirt, and dan got a couple more that were only $5! It was a great sale!

After that we went to Target to get some soap for the bathroom, and we also got a lot of frozen dinners. They had a good sale, buy six, get one free... so we took advantage of that, but the only upsetting thing was that they didn't have my favorite turkey meals.

I'm getting really sick of Target not having things in stock. They always run out of food items, and it's always the same stuff. Why can't they get their act together and order more. It's not that hard. Every supermarket has figured out how to do this, why can't Target!? I love Target... but come on!

Anyway, after Target we headed home with our frozen goods, and we watch some TV and had dinner.

We watched a couple episodes of Pawn Stars, and then I took a shower, and got ready for bed. I just had a pretzel, and now i'm gonna go brush my teeth.

Dan is going away tomorrow for work for the whole week! He's leaving early tomorrow morning for New Jersey, and he has training there all week long! He won't be home until Friday night, so I'll be all by myself until then!

Then, when he gets back, we're leaving early on Saturday morning to go to Montreal and to visit Fred! Woo Hoo! Our first trip back there in years, and our first trip in the Summer since the first time we were ever there. I vowed never go away in the winter after we got 2 feet of snow BOTH TIMES!

Anyway, it's late and I have to get to sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com