Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 27, 2012 - 11:05 p.m.
"dan's back" or "opening ceremony"

Hey Journal!

Happy Friday!!! and Happy Opening Ceremonies Day of the London 2012 Summer Olympics!!! Woo!!

This morning on my way to work, I listened to the Chris Moyles Show, and sadly I didn't hear the Golden Hour because I copied the wrong hour onto my phone. I had recorded the whole show today because I wanted to listen in the car tomorrow. On the bright side, I got to hear McFly Day which I haven't heard in a LOOOONG time! I LOVE MCFLY DAY!!!

So, today was the Opening Ceremonies of the Olympics, and I was very excited to watch. I remember watching a lot of the coverage from Beijing in 2008, and I remember always putting it on the TV in the office at work. I can't believe that was four years ago! How insane is that!

I was very excited to see the sights of London on the coverage. I heard that Voldemort and Mary Poppins would be in the Opening Ceremony, so I that sounded cool.

As I sit here writing this, the ceremony is STILL going on! How insane! How long can it last! Wild! The beginning show was good, I enjoyed. I think the highlight for me was Mr. Bean! That was funny.

Now, back to this morning. I got to work, and the day went by pretty quickly. Re was in, and closed all the days, did all the bank stuff, and paid the bills!

I didn't have any lunch today, which in retrospect probably wasn't good, but I wasn't really hungry. I did have some chicken soup at some point, though.

I put the finishing touches on the new look and feel of the website, and I believe all of the main pages are up and running now, and there may be one or two obscure pages that need to be updated, but I will get to those next week. For now, I'm very happy with the layout, although I might need to make a small tweak to the width of the lower half of the pages.

Dan called to say that he had gotten out from his conference a little earlier than expected, and was on his way home! Unfortunately he hit a little traffic near the Verrazano, and so it took him a little longer than it should have, but he was home by about 4:30, I think.

I left work at 5, and didn't get home until about 5:40. The traffic was crappy today.

Dan and I watched the news, and then we got ready to go out to Target. We got some necessities, and also some snacks to bring with us for our Montreal trip tomorrow!

I can't wait to see Fred... it's been almost two years since the last time we saw him! I don't know how time can go by so fast! It's insane! This morning, I was looking for some old pictures of the golf course to use for the new website, and I stumbled upon some great old pictures that really brought back memories.

Then later, I was looking back on our first trip to Montreal, and found a pic of us with Fred! I can't believe that was 2007! That's so crazy.

Anyway, I have to get to sleep now so we can get up at like 5am to leave! It takes about 7 hours, but i'd add a little more in case we stop for breakfast or there's a line at the border!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)

I just had to come back to say that I just watched the end of the Opening Ceremony, and watched the final torchbearers light the cauldron, and it was really something. The fireworks afterwards were really cool, and it really is amazing.

We were in London on the day that the torch arrived in the UK, and we were in Torbay the same day it was. We didn't get to see it with our own eyes, although I wish that we had, but I followed its progress through the Chris Moyles Show when it went to Aberystwyth, Nottingham, Brighton, etc. It was really cool hearing about its progress through the UK, and now to see that flame on TV, and know that it was the very same flame that I've been hearing about for so long... it's just really cool. Not to mention we were right there, at the Olympic Village only two months ago, seeing the almost-finished product, and now seeing it on TV... it's just COOL.

I know when I heard about it being lit by "a high priestess" who used a "parabolic mirror to capture the rays of the sun," it sounded pretty corny... but in the end, it's a really cool event. Remind me the next time the olympics make their way to America that I want to be there to see the torch at some point during the relay.

Thanks.

Goodnight again. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com