Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 11, 2012 - 11:58 p.m.
"watching the weather" or "sunburn"

Hey Journal!

Today was a pretty crazy day because of the constantly changing weather forecast. Well, actually... the forecast didn't change so much... it's just that the weather never really mirrored the forecast at all.

We got up around 10:00 and got off to a slow start. We headed out for breakfast, and decided to go to the Professor's Diner. The professor was there, and he was wild as usual. We had a good meal, but while we were there, it poured outside.

The weather said it was going to rain all day, and that there could be severe thunderstorms. Fred wanted to go to Fire Island, but we thought it wouldn't be worth it with the threat of rain! We envisioned taking the ferry across and getting caught in a giant thunderstorm and wasting all that money on a ferry ride to nowhere.

So, instead, we headed over to Robert Moses, figuring that at least if we got an hour in before it rained, that would be worth it. As it turned out, it never did rain... in fact, it got really sunny and hot.

Now, I was very cautious of my white skin and decided to stay under the umbrella the entire day. I only came out in the sun for a couple of minutes to walk to the bathroom, and walk back to the blanket! Unfortunately... I was not lucky... but we will get to that later.

As we left the beach around 3:30, it started to drizzle a bit, but nothing too bad. I felt really bad because I didn't want Fred to think we were purposely not taking him to Fire Island, but we really DID think the weather was going to be terrible.

So, after the beach we came home, and Fred wanted to take a nap. While he napped, I went over to help my Grandma with some things she wanted me to do. First, I had to install new fluorescent lightbulbs over the washing machine, and then I had to put a new part into the refrigerator!

My mom came back from the store while I was there... and she was shocked at how sunburnt I was. She was shocked..... I was 10 times as shocked! I had taken a shower, and apaarantly not looked in the mirror since I got back. I immediately ran to the bathroom, and saw crazy redness on my face. And my feet were even worse!!

I told her that I had been under the umbrella the entire time, and I was appalled at the sun I got.

What a revelation.

So, when I got home, I put aloe all over my face and my feet. Then for dinner we went to the Cheesecake Factory. When we arrived, they said there would be an hour wait, and it turned out to be longer. While we waited, we had planned to go to the mall and stuff, so we went to Abercrombie, where Fred purchased some clothes. Re and Erin met us there, and we waited while Fred tried on a couple more things.

When we went back to Cheesecake, we had a while more to wait, so we played a game to help pass the time. We passed the buzzer around like a game of Hot Potato, but with a twist... each time we got the buzzer, we tried to act out something with it....so we did things like... a fly swatter, a diving board, a sword, a shark's fin.... It was very funny.

Fred was in rare form tonight, ordering in his really scary deep voice, and I think frightening the waitress just a little bit!

Then, he filled Erin in on some French curses, one of which he translated to be "shitting woman!"

Unfortunately, Fred's first choice of dinner was unavailable, so he picked a second, but was not happy that his pizza was unavailable!

When we got home, before watching the Olympics, we went on Omegle, and Fred loved it. It was a crazy experience... though it was hard to find anyone normal... but isn't that always the case!?

So.. we watched the Olympics, and now it's time for bed! I can't believe the Olympics are almost over! Sheesh!

Anyway... I'm exhausted, and tomorrow we are goign canoeing on the Nissequogue! Woo!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com