Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 12, 2012 - 11:30 p.m.
"the closing ceremony of the olympics - farewell to the london 2012 games"

Hey Journal!

Well, as I write this entry, we are just taking a break from watching the Closing Ceremony of the Olympics! I can't even believe that it's been just over two weeks since we watched the Opening Ceremony!! I have LOVED the Olympics this year, and I am going to miss them SOOO much!

First of all, what am I going to do with myself!? I have watched more sports in the past two weeks than I have watched in the past ten years! It's really been amazing! I have no interest at all in sports usually, but there's something about the Olympics that draws me in! I've gotten so into the diving, the swimming, volleyball, and track! I've loved it all!

If I had to pick my favorite group of events, it would be the aquatic events....and if I had to pick my favorite event it would definitely be the synchronized diving.

Before the Closing Ceremony began, they were showing some recaps of the past few weeks, and then they showed Synchronized Diving, it felt like it was months ago! I can't remember what life was like before the London 2012 games!

So, as I said, I have been REALLY into the Olympics this summer, and I was trying to figure out why it's more than previous years! I remember being into Beijing 2008, and watching the swimming and diving, but this year I talked about the Olympics with everyone, and was following them so closely. One possible reason is that it was in London, and since I love London, I found it even more interesting.... and an extension of that is that maybe because it was in an English speaking country, it made things more exciting for us. I also felt a connection because we toured the Olympic Park when we were in London this past May, so we knew just where everything was!

I would also have to say that the Olympic organizers did a much better job of making the Olympics cooler, hyped them up, and made them more exciting to watch! (And having athletes like Tom Daley and Chris Mears didn't hurt, either!)

Anyway, whatever the reason, I will really miss turning on the TV and seeing the events coming live from Stratford in East London. I will also miss our Olympic Parties that we had to watch the games! Re hosted the first one, then Lau, then us! It was really fun!

So, now that the games are over, we return to the dull and boringness of everyday. Before that, though, I still have to watch the end of the Closing Ceremony!!

This morning we got up at about 7:30 and got ready to go canoeing down the Nissequogue River! We stopped on the way to get some bagels, and then we headed to the Bull to pick up our canoe! There was noone else waiting to go when we got there, and we were in the water in a couple of minutes.

It was a beautiful morning... not too hot, just right! I was covered from head to toe in sunscreen because after yesterday's debacle at the beach, I was taking no chances! We rowed down the river, under the roads, and made our way towards the bluff. It's a lot longer of a way than you think. We figured we were almost there, and when I looked at the map, I realized we were less than halfway! Crazy!

It was a fun time... we saw lots of nice houses that line the river, lots of cool birds, and even a big turtle. I sat in the middle, and Fred was in the front of the canoe, and Dan was in the back.

When we got to the bluff, we took the bus back, and the guy with wild long hair drove us. He was very nice, and actually, everyone who worked there was really nice... from the people who checked us in, to the people who took the canoe, and the bus driver. All friendly and fun!

So, we got back to our car, and we went to 7-11 where I got a Slurpee. We came back home for a bit after that, and we all took showers, and Fred wanted to take a nap.

When he woke up, we went out to Panera for lunch, and then we went to Target and bought a present for Dan's brother's Housewarming party next week. Then we took a little drive around, but didn't know what to do for the rest of the day.

We wound up going bowling! It was fun! We played two games! I came in third on the first game, and second on the last game. We said "USA takes gold and silver... Canada takes the bronze!"

After bowling, we came home and Fred took another nap before we went out for dinner. We watched some more Olympics, and I did some random things around the house.

At about 5:30, we went to Branchinelli's for dinner, and then after that we had a little time to kill before we had to drop Fred off at the train station. We went to the Deer Park outlets, walked around, went into a few stores, and his train was at 7:55, so we headed over there around 7:30.

We waited with him on the platform, and just before the train arrived, he realized that he left his car keys in Dan's car!! Dan ran back and got them! Phew.

So, the train arrived, and we said goodbye! Fred is now on his way back to Montreal! His bus left the city at about 10:00, so he's still got a long trip ahead of him!

Dan and I headed back home and when we arrived, we started watching the Olympic ceremony coverage. And now, to complete the timeline...

When I started writing this entry, we had taken a break so we could skip the commercials later. Since then, I took a break from my journal entry and finished watching the ceremony!

So, I thought all of the musical acts were good, and the best of the night was definitely the Spice Girls! It was a great performance... if only too short! Tiny Tempah and Jessie J were good, too... and then the Olympic flame was put to sleep for four years. Again I can't believe that I was in England when the torch arrived there, and it was back in May when the flame was lit from the rays of the sun! Watching it go out tonight was kinda sad. I loved the Olympics. I don't want to wait four more years.

And with that, I am off to bed! Back to work tomorrow.

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com