Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 21, 2012 - 10:45 p.m.
"journal forever" or "boston salt market"

Hey Journal!

Sometimes when it's late at night, and I'm in a rush to get to bed, I think about the possibility of skipping my journal. To be fair, I never really seriously entertain the idea. As soon as the idea crosses my mind, I think "No way..." And tonight when it happened, I tried to figure out why that would be such a bad idea. First off, we know that I like tradition, and it's a tradition I've kept up for so long now, it would be sad to let it go. Secondly, and perhaps more importantly, I feel like the days and weeks fly by so fast, and it's nice to spend some time each day reflecting on what has happened, even if it's just recounting the days events sometimes. It gives me a place to go to put down my thoughts and get it all "on paper." It makes to go back and think about what I've done, and helps one day not blend into the next. Finally, It has definitely proven useful at satisfying my (and others') curiosity over the years. It's a great place to look back and remember what we've done, and to know exactly when we did something, who we were with, and how the events unfolded. I can't tell you how many times I've Searched for a date to see how long ago a particular event was, and a couple of times I've looked up a story I was telling someone, only to find that we had slightly changed the events over time. One recent example was the now-famous "you don't want the Oatmeal" incident at the Latham 76 diner. While our recollection of the quote was similar to the original, we had somehow changed it like a game of telephone.

So, it's late, and I am rushing for bed, and I think perhaps I have given myself the best reason of all not to question the Journal.... If I do, I wind up writing a whole paragraph on my I love to write my journal, and I've not even gotten to the part where I woke up this morning!

Oh, here we are... I woke up this morning at the regular time for work. Another day of NO TRAFFIC at all! I have a theory as to why. I think summer camps are over. I think last week was their last week, and now all the campers and workers are not on the road. Of course, school is still closed, and with no school and no camp, many families are probably going on vacation... I mean, you aren't going to go away with your kids after you paid for them to go to camp, so you'd wait till it's over... and now is the last chance to get some summer fun in before school starts. Anyway, it all boils down to an excellent drive for me.

Work today was good, got a few dues payments, but we still need more to be where we need to be. We have a huge bill to pay next week, and we need more payments. NOW. Every time we get close to being able to pay this bill, we slip back because some other random obligation plops down. Payroll. Credit cards. Insurance. Loans. Yikes.

Pete, Steve, and I wore almost the same color shirt today. Blueish teal. At around 4:00, we had a popcorn party in the office. Good times.

I departed at 5 and headed home. I watched the news, and when Dan got home, we went out to Boston Market for dinner. We asked for our food "to-go" in order to avoid getting the "real" plates and silverware. That's totally not what Boston Market is about, and they need to realize they can't try to be something they're not. But this time we figured out how to get around the annoyance, and got our plastic plates anyway.

The are starting a new thing at Boston Market where they keep the salt over at the beverage counter. It's a cool idea, I think. All these restaurants are trying to reduce salt, and it makes sense that if they make it a little less readily available, people will be less likely to use it if they don't need it. What's funnier is that after seeing this, I posted a picture of it on Instagram. Then when we got home later and watched World News, they had a report about Boston Market and the salt! Wild! We are always up with the latest happenings.

Alas, after dinner, we went to Target, returned a towel we had purchased on Saturday, and then we walked around and looked for things we needed to buy.

We got some food, and I got a new shirt. The cashier told us that he had the same shirt. I guess that validates my purchase. lol

When we got home, we took a walk around the neighborhood, and went down some streets I don't think I've ever been down before. When we got home, Dan took a shower and then watched last night's Major Crimes, and I took a shower as well.

We watched World News, and now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com