Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 26, 2012 - 9:50 p.m.
"the color run"

Hey Journal!

What a CRAZY weekend! It has been JAM packed! Since we got out of work on Friday afternoon, it's been nonstop!

After the busy day we had yesterday, we had to get up at 4:30 am for The Color Run! It was still dark outside when Jerry arrived here at 5, and we hit the road.

I have to say that on my way there, feeling extremely exhausted, and about to fall back to sleep... I was thinking what have we gotten ourselves into... but it turned out to amazing!

We had such a fun time. It took a little over an hour to get to the place in Brooklyn. On the way, we stopped at a place called The Bagel Doctor to get something to eat, and it was still pitch black when we stopped.

We got to the place at about 6:10, parked, and then got our packets. We got a t-shirt, some color powder, and a bandana. Then we went back to the car and put on our shirts, and got situated.

The run didn't start until 8:00, so we hung around, and Jerry bought some stuff from the Color Run Store. I saw Stephanie, who was in my Radio Broadcasting class in High School! We said Hi before it started, but then I never saw her again!

When it started, we were in the second wave. We line up at the starting line, and still weren't really sure what to expect. When they let us go, we started making our way down the route... which was an old runway. The event was at an old Naval airfield.

So, Jerry and Dan did a little more jogging than I did. I got winded pretty quickly, and couldn't make it! I had to walk more than they did. Every K, they had a paint area, and people threw the colored power on you. At the end of the run, I was feeling like we didn't get much paint on us... but that all changed at the paint party!

Everyone gathered around the stage after the run, and there was music and lots and lots of powdered paint!

We were there for a while, threw a lot of paint, and had a great time!'

Afterwards, we got some water, and then headed to the car. When we got in the car, it was just 10:30!! We couldn't believe it because it felt like it was about 3 in the afternoon!!

It took us about an hour to get home, and Jerry fell asleep on the ride back. When we got home, we got in the shower immediately, and tried to get all of the paint off. I think it was successful, but I have to say that this type of paint was much harder to get off than the Dayglow paint.

Overall, I think the Dayglow paint was better... but this paint was fun too.

After showering, we watched Phineas and Ferb, and then took a nap! We slept from about 1:30 to 3:30, and then we got up and went over to Dan's parents' house.

I helped Dan's dad with his phone, and then we went to Price Club in Commack to get some things. I have to say that Dan was right about one thing there... I never noticed it, but the people at the Commack Price Club are SO much friendlier than the one in Nesconset. They have this weird attitude in Nesconset, almost everyone there has it. I wonder why they are so different.

Anyway, we got home, and Dan wasn't in a good mood. A little later, we went out to Panera for dinner. While we were eating, a woman dropped her tray and broke a bowl and a tray! They guys that worked there started clapping. It was kinda funny.

When we were done eating, we went over to say Hi to my mom, and then Dan and I took a walk to Tackan. It was very much an "end-of-summer" walk. It reminded me so much of when I was in High School and College and would take a walk just before school was going to start again!

When we walked past Tackan, I was reminiscing about elementary school!

We got home a little while ago, and now it's time for bed!

Untul tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com