Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 25, 2012 - 9:30 p.m.
"vip mets game with connor"

Hey Journal!

What a full day we had today! It's only 9:30 and I am going to be getting into bed as soon as I finish this! We have a long day tomorrow, too, and we have to get up super early! I know I've said it before, but this summer, since the one weekend when Dan and I had NOTHING at all to do, and we made a plan to keep a calendar and try to make the most of the summer weekends, we haven't had a weekend day to relax.

I'm not complaining because it's amazing to have stuff to do, but I DO want to say that I will be very happy when we get our first Saturday of quiet nothingness!

So anyway, I woke up on my own at about 9:00 this morning. I had set my alarm for 9:30, but I couldn't' sleep any longer. I was surprised because we didn't get to bed until about 2:00 last night, and I was already exhausted from the week of work!

The plan for the day was to go to the Mets game, but my mom had the tickets, so I needed to go over there and pick them up, and also to the store to get some food for the game. Dan stayed home because he had to bring Julio back to his mom's house, so I figured I'd get that done while Dan took Julio back.

Linda was going to a wedding today, so I asked her if the kids were going as well. She said they weren't, so I asked if Connor would like to come to the game with us!

My Aunt had gotten the tickets but wasn't able to use them, so she offered to give them to us. My mom decided to come to the game as well since we had four tickets, but were only using three.

So, my mom and I got a quick breakfast at McDonald's and then we went to Handy Pantry to get some sandwiches and stuff for the game. Dan picked up some Gatorades, and then we met here at 10:30, and headed off.

We picked up Connor a little before 11:30 and then headed off to the game. We had a really fun time! Connor was very good, and we all had a really fun time. When we arrived at the game, we had AMAZING parking! We were in section B which was just STEPS from the stadium, and super close to the entrance we had to go in.

Before we went in, we went to the spot where the old bases used to be in Shea Stadium. Then we went over to the old Home Run Apple and took some pictures there. We headed back to the car, got our sandwiches and drinks, and then went to the special Seaver Entrance. It was wild!

There was no line at all, we got in pretty quickly, and the inside was amazing... it was so nice! We went around the corner to the elevator, and that took us to the lever where our seats were.

I have NEVER had seats like this.... it was crazy! We were right behind home play... Section 13, Row 9! First off, the seats were PADDED! There were super soft and cushiony, and it was so comfortable. Then, they had people who opened the doors for you, and when you went up to the bathroom or anything, it was all inside in a nice air conditioned section with tables and chairs. The bathrooms were super-clean, had no lines, and were really snazzy! It was quite the contrast from past visits!

Our tickets said VIP, and so as we pulled into the designated parking section, which had a gate that had to be opened just for us, Connor yelled out the window... "WE'RE SPECIAL!!" Yes, yes we are.

The game was pretty good, the Mets got a home run so we got to see the apple come out, and Connor did a Home Run dance. There was some crazy Italian singer there, who sang a bunch of songs before the game started. They described him as a "rising star."

Around the 7th inning, Connor and I took a walk around the field... we had to go out into the "commoner's section." Once you get the VIP treatment.. it's hard to go back! It was so crowded out there, and hot... no A/C! Yikes!

We were all very excited because the METS WON! Woo!

After the game, we took a walk over to Flushing Meadows Corona Park to see the Unisphere, or the "Super Globe" as Connor called it. The fountains were on, which is rare. We've been there a lot of times, and it's usually off. For some reason they never fill the pool totally, but it was still pretty cool!

We walked around it and took lots of fun pictures there. Connor and I even got pretty close to the water jets! Some people were running through them, and I was so tempted... but without any towel or a change of clothes... I decided against it!

We headed back to the car, and by that time there was no traffic at all. Everyone was already out of the parking lot. We were one of the only cars left, especially in our section.

On the drive back, Connor found an AARP Defensive Driving book in the seat in front of him, and he was REALLY INTENTLY reading it. He didn't even want me to read it out loud. He was really concentrating on it!

He was reading all about merging into lanes, and how far to sit away from the steering wheel. He was really taking his time reading it!

A couple of quotes from the day that I would like to share....
After seeing something that said "The Home of the Mets," Connor said, "This is the home of the Mets? Do they really eat, sleep, and drink here?"

In the car on the way home... "I have a sleepover to get to." Dan then asked him if he wanted to skip Friendly's, and he said, "No... we have plenty of time."

So, as that quote suggests, we went to Friendly's before we dropped Connor off at his Grandparents' house. We had dinner, and he got a Friend-Z with "peanut butter cup ears." lol

This was the Friendly's that we had visited when they didn't give me fries with my meal, and after I complained to the them, the menu has been updated! It now clarifies that the soup is a substitution for fries! I was very happy to have inspired change. At least I will believe that.

So, as we left Friendly's, we asked for two balloons. We figured Connor could give one to Cameron. They boy who inflated them did a poor job, however, because once we got in the car, I realized that they weren't tied on the bottom!!! They just had a string tied around them! I realized this because one of them started to deflate rapidly!

Who does that!?

Anyway, we dropped Connor off at his Grandparents' house for his sleepover. They were outside when we pulled up, and Cameron was there. She was happy to see us... but looked like she was going to cry when we left. I felt so bad. She's so cute!

So.. We had a REALLY nice day with Connor. He was good the whole time, and it was a really fun time!

My mom had a good time as well!

When we got home, I was EXHAUSTED. We both took showers, and now I just had a snack... some of my leftovers from last night. I am off to bed RIGHT NOW because we had to get up super early for tomorrow's color run in Brooklyn! We have to be there at like 6am! Yikes!!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com