Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 11, 2012 - 9:30 p.m.
"tcms: 3 shows to go"

Hey Journal!

So I finally managed to get to my journal early for once! I know, it's amazing! For some reason this night has felt plenty long! I've had time to eat dinner, watch the news, do stuff online, and take a shower, and all ahead of schedule!

I got up this morning and headed off to work a little earlier than usual. I knew Dan's dad was going to be in early today, so I figured I would show up nice and early.

Today I sent out yet another reminder of the early dues because for some reason, people love to wait until the last minute, and in the past we have had tons of people paying AFTER the deadline. As we learned last year, if you stress the deadline enough, people REALLY get the idea that there will be no exceptions.

Today was Steve's first day back! I hadn't seen him since the middle of August. I didn't see him too much today, though, because he was out with Kyle working on problems with the Golf Course.

I worked on some website stuff, posted some flyers, and the day went by pretty quickly.

I left at 5 and headed home, and Dan was already home before I got there because he left work early today to go to a doctor's appointment. He has had a sore throat for a while, and it hasn't gotten better. The doctor said there might be some sort of infection, so he's taking antibiotics, and she said it should go away in a couple of days! Phew!

When I got home, we watched the news and then World News. I had two bowls of cereal for dinner, and Dan took a nap.

I cleaned up a little, and then took a shower.

Tomorrow is the third to last Chris Moyles Show! I don't even know what to expect for the last two shows. I am going to record the last ones in their entirety cause I don't want to miss any of it! I have to say that I am completely disappointed that the show will be ending, but I haven't enjoyed the last week of shows as much as I thought I would because they had too many guests in. Every day they had one, two, or three guests in and they just talked about stuff I didn't care about! I much prefer hearing the team just talking about themselves! That's the best part of the whole show! I do hope that's what the last episode is like.

So now, let's address the elephant in the room. It's September 11th. Everyone seems to be so focused on "remembering" today. You know, I don't want this to come accross the wrong way, so I have to acknowledge that horrible, terrible event took place on September 11th, 2001. And because of the impact they had on us all, I can remember exactly where I was when I heard the accounts of everything going down. But now, here comes the annoying part. FACEBOOK. Facebook has made it the "in" thing to do to "remember" the events at the World Trade Center.

Before I get into that, let me say that I refuse to simple call it "September 11th." I mean, what does that mean? It's a DATE. Call it what it is, not a DATE. Do we call the attacks on Pearl Harbor simply "December 7th?" NO.... but somehow we can still remember what day it was!

So, everyone and their brother on Facebook feels the need to write some contrived paragraph about the memory or how they will never forget. Then the worst is the people who change their profile pictures to a photo of the Twin Towers, or post picture of the blue lights coming up from their footprints! I don't need YOU to display this for me in order for me to remember. Do you think that if you didn't change your profile picture to a photo of a building that noone else would remember?

It seems like the people who do this are only doing it because it's become the "in" thing to do, as if to say that if you DO, people will REALLY know just how much you are honoring those whose lives were lost. And meanwhile, the people who do this (at least the ones I know) didn't know anyone who died, or weren't directly affected.

Again, I'm ONLY talking about the Facebook world... that's where this annoys me! I know people will totally disagree with me, so I guess it's in my favor that almost nobody reads my journal! haha but it really irks me!!

And what makes it worse is that some of the people guilty of these actions are very close friends of mine. This goes right up there with replacing your last name with your middle name on Facebook. I feel the need to defriend you for it, but I can't bear to.

So anyway, it's time to get to bed, and luckily I have some time to make myself a frozen pretzel!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com