Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 23, 2012 - 12:30 a.m.
"the NEW main branch"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up a lot earlier than I thought I would considering I didn't set my alarm, and had nothing to get up to do.

I got up around 10:00 and watched some TV until Dan arose. He didn't wake up until about 12:00! Crazy! I watched a bunch of episodes of Hey Dude, and then after Dan got up we watched last night's Shark Tank, and then we went out to the mall to take a walk around.

After the mall, we decided to go to Price Club in Commack, and on the way, we passed the main branch of the library, and I remembered that it had opened back up again after being closed for a LONG time for renovations.

We decided to stop in, and as we were pulling into the parking lot, I was telling Dan that I wondered if I would see anyone that I knew! So many people that I worked with have retired and the ones that haven't moved to other branches! It's pretty wild.

Anyway, when we walked in, it's a little strange at first. The lobby is really weird, boring, and you feel like you don't know where to go to actually get INTO the library.

As I turned the corner... the first person I saw was DEBBIE!! I was shocked! Apparently, she started working there again three months ago! How amazing! Of all the people I could have bumped into there.... I was so excited to see her!

We walked for a bit, and then Dan and I went to go explore the library! So, the changes are: Where the fiction section used to be is now the circulation office. What used to be the circulation office is now bathrooms. What used to be the reference office is now the children's room, with an addition to make it bigger. What used to be the children's room is a big periodicals room, and what used to be children's non-fiction is now... well... I don't remember what that was... but it's something different. (Oh... I think it's Biography.)

Reference is pretty much in the same place, right in the middle of the library, and YA is back where the videos always used to be.

The basement was re-done AGAIN, and this time it's a little strange. When you get down there, there's ONLY videos and DVDs. It's a strange space. The Long Island room is there, and I don't know if they've changed anything where the stacks used to be. What was the OLD Long Island Room and the custodial office is now an open space which will apparently be used for book sales.

The upstairs has lots of changes, too. Where YA used to be, the shelves have been moved to the other side of the wall making it feel more open, and the Business Office has been moved to Nesconset, so the floor goes all the way across. Where the break room used to be is some sort of conference room, and patrons can now go up and down the stairs on that side.

The one thing that is noticeably missing, and makes me very upset, is the
large painting of Cornelia Stewart Butler. She was the person who owned the building that was donated to the library, and the removal of her portrait is a disservice to her memory.

I was also sad that bouncy ball we left in the control panel box for the book elevator was removed... and come to think of it... the book elevator was taken away, too! What a shame! That was always such a strange thing, and even when I was little... it looked like some kind of oven or something!

Anyway, after our trip to the library, we went to Price Club to get some goods. We had some pizza before we shopped, and then we got contact solution, toilet paper, water, and other necessities.

When we got home, we watched What Would You Do? and then Dan fell asleep.

I took a shower, and then at about 7:15, we picked Kristen and Don up to go out for dinner. We went to Smokin' Al's in Massapequa, but the wait was over an hour! Preposterous! Instead, we went to the OTHER Smokin' Al's in Bay Shore which had no wait at all. Strange.

After dinner we took a scenic drive, and then headed back around 11:00.

We watched a little TV, and despite my desire to go to bed now, Dan wants to stay up indefinitely.

Anyway, until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com