Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 25, 2012 - 11:27 p.m.
"renewing my license" or "a beautiful september day"

Hey Journal!

Today was a BEAUTIFUL day! I got up at about 8:00 and got ready to go to the DMV to renew my driver's license. I picked out a shirt that I thought would look good in the picture on my license, and then I practice smiling in the mirror. I figured, I really want to have a nice smile in my picture, and I only have one shot to get it right, and I won't be able to see it before it's final, so I had to know what it FEELS like to smile right!

In the end, I learned that if I say "Hiiiii" (or mouth it, so as not to frighten people) and then hold it, the smile is pretty good! So that was my plan!

I had a quick breakfast of farina, and then headed out. I stopped to get gas in my car, and I arrived at the DMV at about 9:45.

I went inside the New York State Office Building, went through the metal detectors, and then right to the DMV. I remember, years ago, going to that building with Lindsay to get papers for her car, I think, and they gave you a special VISITOR sticker that said "SOB" (short for "State Office Building, of course). They don't do that anymore. lol

That building is so strange. I actually like it a lot, and I think it's cool... but it's definitely odd. I hope it never changes.

I went in, got on line, and then told the lady I was there to renew my license. She asked me to sign a little signature card, and I took my time and got a really good signature on it. Then she told me to step up to the screen for my picture! Oh no!!

I smiled like I had planned, and held it until I saw the flash go off! And it was over in a second! I have no idea how it came out!! Is it good, or do I look like a COMPLETE FOOL!? The worst part is that I won't know until I get my new license in two weeks! The suspense is KILLING me!

She gave me a number, and I sat down to wait for it to be called. I got B228, and they were on B218. 10 to go. While I was waiting, I came up with this idea. They should allow each person to go into a "photo booth" type apparatus, and take several pictures of themselves. (They could post examples of the correct pose to be in) and then you could pick your favorite... at least one that you like, and select it. THEN, you could go over to the counter, and the DMV person could look at it to make sure it meets their requirements, and it's appropriate... (not a picture of your ass!) I think that would be better for all involved.

Anyway, I waited and waited. As my number got closer, the Bs started to go faster and faster! I got called to window number 9. It was a younger girl, and she was pretty nice. She told me where to sign, and what to check off on my form, and then she charged me $80.50. Thanks. I had to read a line from an eye chart, which was no problem at all. I was probably at the window for about 90 seconds. And then I was on my way, with a license to drive until 2020!

When I came out, it was a BEAUTIFUL morning! I was feeling so GREAT. I was in such a great mood and enjoying life so much! I have no idea why! I was just so happy. I was a little saddened when I thought of going to work. I think I was remember what it was like before work, and all the time I could be outside enjoying a day like today!

Anyway, it was great. But now it was time to head to work. After a loop around the parking lot I eventually found the exit, and then ALMOST blew a stop sign when leaving... which I though would have been ironic since they JUST renewed my license. Perhaps they should have taken closer examination first! lol

Before work, I went to the post office to pick up the CPC letter that was sent by certified mail.

After a harrowing experience trying to figure out how to get to the Post Office with all the construction that's going on in the middle of the road, I finally made it. When I got inside, there was noone there. The man in front of me was ringing the bell to get someone to come, but it took a while.

When she arrived, she went to get my letter, and the whole time she was helping me, she was on the phone making an appointment for her and her mother. What a strange experience!

So, I got to work a little after 11 and the day went by REALLY slowly. I had a lot to do at first, payroll stuff, and then working on some CPC things, and whatever else came up.

There was a retirement party today, so I had a nice lunch of their leftover buffet... penne and chicken. I was going to have some cake, but Ryan offered me some half eaten cake (not realize it was half eaten...) so I skipped that! lol Although, later on, I did manage to get a piece of NEW cake!

I left work around 5:00, and headed home.

I watched the news, and then had a TV dinner. When Dan got home, we watched World News, and then at 7:00, we went to the library!! Debbie was there, so I talked to her for a bit and showed her Pages of Pages! What a crazy book!

Then she helped get my library card back in the computer so that I could once again take out books! I had lost my card a few years ago, and couldn't find it ANYWHERE...so, luckily, I had made a copy of my card, and using it, I was able to get my old barcode back!

Yay!

So, I talked to Debbie for a bit, then we also had to return some overdue books that Dan had taken out FOREVER ago! What a patron! Before we left, we picked out a movie, and checked it out.

When we got home, I took a shower, and now it's just about time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com